Migration History: Literature

"With World Literature Collection, scholars have access to more than 70,000 texts by authors of over 65 nationalities—from Germany to Jamaica, and from Venezuela to Vietnam--that build upon 1,000 years of established Anglophone literary tradition with works in Spanish, French, Dutch, and Papiamento... Texts appear in both the author’s native language, and frequently in English for easy analysis." (ProQuest) Rice University owns access to the following World Literature Collection modules: 1) South and Southeast Asian Literature in English; 2) Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction; 3) Latin American Women Writers; 4) Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro; 5) Digital Bibliothek Deutsche Klassiker; 6) Schillers Werke; 7) Brecht's Werke; 8) Kafkas Werke; 9) Goethes Werke; and 10) Die Deutsche Lyrik.

This database combines the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), a key literature index, with over 355,000 fully searchable literary texts and many literary reference works including Cambridge Companions to Literature, New Essays on the American Novel, and ProQuest Study Guides. LION incorporates the Black Writing and World Literature collections from ProQuest.

This collection consists of "poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before." (Alexander Street Press) This collection is part of ProQuest's World Literature Collection.

Presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics – shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times.

Presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers –including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery."

The Corvey Collection contains complete images and text of thousands of English, German and French-language literary books, including many rare or previously unknown titles, from 1790-1840. Part of Gale Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

The German Literature Collection consists of the following collections:
Bertolt Brechts Werke;
Die Deutsche Lyrik;
Goethes Werke;
Kafkas Werke; and
Schillers Werke.

This database "is the most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora, offering short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life...The database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon." (Alexander Street Press) This collection is part of ProQuest's Black Writing Collection. Rice University owns access to the following modules of the Black Writing Collection: 1) Black Short Fiction and Folklore; 2) Black Women Writers; and 3) Caribbean Literature.

"Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time." (Alexander Street Press) This collection is part of ProQuest's Black Writing Collection. Rice University owns access to the following modules of the Black Writing Collection: 1) Black Short Fiction and Folklore; 2) Black Women Writers; and 3) Caribbean Literature.

"Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. The titles selected by our editors are presented in the original: English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. It also features dictionaries of the Creole spoken in these countries literature." (Alexander Street Press) This collection is part of ProQuest's Black Writing Collection. Rice University owns access to the following modules of the Black Writing Collection: 1) Black Short Fiction and Folklore; 2) Black Women Writers; and 3) Caribbean Literature.

This database "is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of classic, rare, and contemporary literature." (Alexander Street Press) This collection is part of ProQuest's World Literature Collection.