Migration History: Africa

"AODL provides free universal access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. It brings together tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages, many of which are contained in curated thematic galleries and teaching resources." (AODL)

Modern day migration resource, “The MAFE project generated multi-sited, comparative and longitudinal surveys carried out in 3 African countries and 6 European countries. It offers a unique source of data that enables researchers to study the patterns, causes and consequences of African migration. Data collected in African countries can also be used to study other socio-demographic phenomena (union formation, fertility, socio-economic outcomes…). The databases are available to the public free of charge for research and educational purposes.” (MAFE)

"A collection of official gazettes and other key historical government documentation from countries where the integrity of the public record is known to be at risk." These gazettes are digitally available for 10 African and Persian Gulf countries.

Documents (in French) and photos regarding exchanges between France and African nations from the 19th century. "The Great Gathering 2016 is attached to memories of relations between Africa and France since the XIX th century. It embraced all aspects of this community of destiny: commercial, scientific or cultural exchanges, economic collaboration, colonization and decolonization, immigration, but also political, military and diplomatic events, thus enriching two centuries of Franco-African history. , by highlighting the action of civilian populations and the reality of individual journeys."

Documents relating to French colonialism in Africa [in French]

This digital archive features historial books and documents relating to the history of Sudan, environmental and peace issues, ethnographic studies, and Islam in Sudan.

Features speeches, newspaper articles, audio, and video from the history of South Africa's freedom struggle.

"The journal documents the relevance of African immigration to the world’s social, political and economic systems as well as its historical effects on culture; it responds to the debates on immigration and problematizes its assumed effects."

Features records of the Anglican Church of Uganda and the Missionary Society of the Church of England dating back to 1877.

"Assembled by the British collector Humphrey Winterton over about 30 years, the collection depicts the breadth of African experience; documents African life; European life in Africa in all its manifestations; and the African landscape, in particular as it changed over time. Included are photographs showing the building of East Africa’s railways, the growth of its urban centers and the development of European colonial administration. The photographs extensively document rural life as well as the travels and work of European colonial officials and private businessmen."

Online collection includes primary documents relating to 1970s conflict between Ethiopia and Somalia.

"This collection of Liberia maps includes twenty examples from the American Colonization Society (ACS), organized in 1817 to resettle free black Americans in West Africa. These maps show early settlements in Liberia, indigenous political subdivisions, and some of the building lots that were assigned to settlers." (LOC)

Small collection of letters from two formers slaves who settled in Liberia in the mid-nineteenth century

"This site carries data and documentation from the Roll of Emigrants to Liberia between 1820 and 1843, representing individuals who were brought to the colony by the American Colonization Society. Also included are data and documentation for the 1843 Liberian Census."

"Islamic Manuscripts from Mali features 32 manuscripts from the Mamma Haidara Commemorative Library and the Library of Cheick Zayni Baye of Boujbeha, both in Timbuktu, Mali. The manuscripts presented online are displayed in their entirety and are an exemplary grouping that showcase the wide variety of subjects covered by the written traditions of Timbuktu, Mali, and West Africa." (LOC)

"Digitized versions of approximately 200 19th-century manuscripts (in Arabic) relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu. These provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies."