Migration History: Canada & Latin America
Start Here
The Canada & Latin America tab includes migration resources related to Canada, Latin America and the Caribbean. Resources related to the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade are available under the Labor Migration tab. Relevant sources are also available in General Databases.
Canada
- Nelles, H. V. A Little History of Canada. Don Mills, Ontario: Oxford University Press, 2004.This history of Canada, written for new Canadian citizens, is an extensive history of immigration. "Beginning with the earliest human occupation of North America, nearly 14,000 years ago, Nelles takes us on a whirlwind tour of the land and its inhabitants to the present day."
- Immigration Library and Archives Goverment of CanadaDigital collection of the government library. "The holdings include: immigration records and guides, travel guides, passenger lists, letters, diaries, journals, memoirs, newspapers (some ethnic titles), maps, art, photographs, music and film."
The collections are sorted into three categories:
- Immigration history: Ethno-Cultural Groups (These databases include sources on a wide variety of immigrant groups with European, African and Asian ethnicity roots.)
- Citizenship and Naturalization Records
- Immigration Records
- Immigrant Experience Digital Collections at Simon Fraser UniversityA large number of digital collections with primary source documents on the experiences of various immigrant groups in Canada.
Collections include:
|
|
|
- New France Archives"In 2004, to mark the 400th anniversary of the French presence in North America, France and Canada re-created their singular adventure and sparked new interest in their shared history by putting documents online reproduced in their entirety using the latest digitization technologies, and making them accessible to a broad public."
- Anti-Slavery Movement in CanadaPart of the government collections, a start to researching the anti - slavery movement and black communities in Canada.
- New Brunswick Irish Portal: Irish Famine Migration to New BrunswickA collection of databases on Irish migration to Canada includes newspapers, immigrant letters, passenger lists, personal records and more
- Prairie Immigration University of Manitoba"View over 10,000 digitized archival documents relating to immigration and immigration policy in western Canada... View three hundred images... presented along with an accompanying historical narrative pertaining to the experience of Ukrainian immigrants in western Canada."
- Waterloo County: Anthes Family Letters"Within the Anthes archives are 28 letters in German, totalling over 78 pages, which were written between 1867 and 1872 ... These letters, along with those of the Breithaupt family, are among the earliest extant documents of local German families.'
- Passages to Canada"An initiative of Historica Canada, Passages Canada volunteers share their personal accounts of cultural identity and heritage on-line in our multimedia Story Archive and in person with schools and community groups."
Canadian Immigration Data & Statistics
- Government of Canada Statistics and Open Data"Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’s statistical publications provide information on permanent and temporary residents as well as immigration and citizenship programs."
- Canadian International Development Platform"We bring together a wide range of data and analysis on foreign aid, including highly detailed disaggregated data compiled from multiple sources and visualized for ease of use and rapid analysis."
Their data topics include:
Latin America
- Our Americas Archive PartnershipProvides open access to historical documents on the Americas housed at Rice University, the University of Maryland, and Instituto Mora.
- Latin America Migration Project (LAMP)The purpose of LAMP is “to advance our understanding of the complex processes of international migration and immigration to the United States” from Puerto Rico, Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Haiti, Peru, Guatemala, and Ecuador. “In addition, a modified version of the LAMP survey was implemented in Paraguay to study migration from that country to Argentina.” The database can be accessed with the creation of an account.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new windowEVA is a guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 drawn from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
- Irish Migration Studies in Latin AmericaInformation to start research on Irish immigation to various Latin American countries
- Latin American Travelogues"The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries."
Caribbean
- Caribbean colonial statistics from the British Empire, 1824-1950 - British Online Archive This link opens in a new window"For the most part these statistical records cover the years from 1839 to 1938, although some records commence from 1824 and others continue until 1950. The records for each colony are prefaced by a brief introduction to that colony. The population returns are published alongside education reports, while grants of land reveal who held the colonial wealth. Imports and exports are joined by prison records which reveal what the crimes were at that time. As these records are published together, the reader can compare the living conditions and access to services across colonies. The imperial statistics in this collection are listed by year for ease of reference." (British Online Archives)
- Digital Library of the CaribbeandLOC is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. It provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Slavery in Jamaica, records from a family of slave owners, 1686-1860 - British Online Archive This link opens in a new window"These documents deal with the history of Amity Hall plantation, a sugar estate in Vere Parish, Jamaica, and some associated properties (principally Bogue livestock pen) while they were in the hands of the Goulburn family." (British Online Archives)
- West Indies: slavery, plantations and trade, 1759-1832 This link opens in a new window"This collection comprises a careful selection of documents from the extensive Slebech Estate archives now held in the National Library of Wales and the Pembrokeshire Record Office. They relate chiefly to the interests of Nathaniel Phillips, 1756?-1832, in the West Indies. The collection represents a major resource for research into the social and economic history of West Indies, slavery, plantations and trade." (British Online Archive)
- The African Presence in The Dominican Republic"First Blacks in the Americas is a fully bilingual (English and Spanish) digital educational platform devoted to disseminating sound historical information about the early presence of people of black African ancestry in the first colonial society of the Americas of modern times, the society of the colony named La Española.." Includes a large number of digitized manuscripts from this time period
Microforms at Fondren Library
Colonial Latin American manuscripts and transcripts in the Obadiah Rich Collection
Call Number: F 1411 .C65 microfilm
The Rich Collection, held in the New York Public Library, contains 102 sets of 149 bound volumes from 1492-1843 pertaining to the discovery and conquest of Latin America. Includes a print guide.
Spanish historical writing about the New World, 1493-1700, from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University
Call Number: E123 .D44 1994 microfilm
"This project focuses on 82 significant works of history mainly written in Spanish about America before 1700, including on the spot narratives, lives of missionaries, ethnographic studies, and natural histories. It includes writings by explorers, conquistadores, missionaries, traders and scientists. Equally importantly, there are also works by mestizos and Native American writers."
Hispanic Culture Series: books before 1601
Call Number: Gov PQ 6171.A2H57 microfilm
Spanish, Portuguese & American books before 1601, Hispanic books printed before 1601. Spanish Language.
Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Biographical Archive
(Archivo biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica Arquivo biográfico de Espanha, Portugal e Ibero-América)
Call Number: Gov CT1345 .A7- CT1345 .A73 microfiche
Dates of birth, dates of death, occupations, geographical data, and sources on historical figures connected to Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. Ranging from the early 17th century to 1995, the three microfiche editions Archivo Biógrafico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica (ABEPI) I, II and III contain biographical entries from 866 reference works, comprising a total of 2,000 volumes. Biographical encyclopedias and handbooks, scattered all over the world, were utilized for this project. Consisting of 2,633 microfiches, this collection provides a unique overview of the cultural, economic and social phenomena, which have shaped the life and history of Spain, Portugal and Latin America. The Archives facilitate access to some 480,000 biographical entries, providing information on 340,000 individuals.