LibGuides: Research A-Z: Define

Defining a Topic

Sometimes the hardest thing about a research project is choosing a topic.

Your topic should be:

Neither too broad nor too narrow. A topic that is too broad will not be appropriate for most projects. If a topic is too specific you may not be able to find enough information.
Well defined and specific. Always try to state your topic as a question or a sentence. This will help you clarify your thoughts and remain focused.
If you start with a very general topic, such a "global warming" or "eating disorders", it might help to read an overview of the topic.

Good Sources for an Overview of the Topic:

General encyclopedias or specialized encyclopedias (do a keyword search using your topic in the A-Z List of Databases. Be careful not to make your search too specific, e.g. use "nutrition" instead of "bulimia".)

Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Also includes a directory of more than 300,000 websites vetted by Britannica editors.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (3rd. Ed.) This link opens in a new window
"The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others.

General periodical articles (these are often cover stories):

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.

An introductory book on the subject (look for books in the Classic Catalog):

Eating Disorders by Jim Kirkpatrick; Paul Caldwell In a society where most people have access to a healthy, nutritious diet, why do so many -- particularly girls and young women (but increasingly, boys and young men) -- develop eating disorders that can lead to illness, organ damage and death? In this comprehensive addition to the Your Personal Health series, Dr. Jim Kirkpatrick and Dr. Paul Caldwell offer expert advice on the causes, effects and treatment of anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, binge-eating disorder, and a host of less familiar eating disorders. Topics include: the issue of genetic predisposition feeding disorders of infancy and early childhood early warning signs of a developing disorder practical tips on how families can cope complicating factors, such as pregnancy, diabetes and substance abuse medical and psychological treatment options the recovery process Supplemented by illustrations, case studies and personal insights from people recovering from these problems, Eating Disorders is a sensitive guide to a complex and disturbingly common problem.
Call Number: RC552 .E18 K57 2001
ISBN: 155209555X
Publication Date: 2001-04-07

It helps to think about different aspects of a general topic. For example, for the topic eating disorders, think about types of the disorder, various causes, and groups that might be affected.

Types	Causes/Influences	Populations
Bulimia	Family	Ages: children, teens, adults, elderly
Anorexia Nervosa	Friends	Gender: male, female
Compulsive Eating Disorder	Media	Ethnic groups: black, white, Asian, Hispanic, etc.
Obsessive Dieting	Diet industry

This will help you come up with possible topic statements or questions:

Young teenagers are influenced by their peers to diet obsessively.
Is there a correlation between poor grades and obsessive eating in elementary school children?

You can also use concept mapping to fine tune your topic.