LibGuides: Research A-Z: Articles

Finding Journals

This Journals search allows you to search for Fondren's journal holdings in all formats (print, online, and microfilm). Enter the title of the journal. To find journal articles, use OneSearch or a library database.

When you follow a link from the Journals search or OneSearch, you may need to enter your NetID and password to access the materials. Please see our remote access instructions for assistance in using these resources when away from campus.

Library Research Guides

For research information on specific disciplines, consult Fondren's subject research guides.

Article Databases

Look in article databases (indexes) to find articles. You can search by keyword(s) and author.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text journals in a variety of the humanities and social science disciplines. It covers recent years including current issues and for some journals serves as an update to JSTOR.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

A-Z List of Databases

If you have a topic that isn't adequately covered by the four databases listed above, look for a database that's focused on your discipline. Use the drop-down menu of subject headings in the A-Z List to find the best databases for your topic.

Using Boolean Operators for Better Search Results

Created by the University of Auckland [4:49 minutes].