LibGuides: Research A-Z: Newspapers & Media

Newspaper Library Guide

For more complete information please see the Newspaper Library Guide.

Collections (databases) of Newspaper Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Recent and archived full-text articles from hundreds of domestic and international newspapers, including archival access to the Houston Chronicle and Houston Post. Updated daily.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790— and is a good source for foreign newspapers.
*Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic.
Nexis Uni offers an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
"A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Titles include: Christian Science Monitor, New York Times (& NYT Book Review), USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post., Associated Press, CNN Wire, PR Wire, United Press International and Xinhua (China). The News View feature also includes television and radio news transcripts from ABC News, ABC (Australian), CBC (Canadian), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio and PBS.

Newspaper Archives

A listing of online news archives is available from U.S. News Archives on the Web. In addition, Fondren subscribes to the following collections and retrospectives:

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable scans of local and regional newspapers from the United States.

Fondren has access to the following collections:
- Early American Newspapers Series 1-8, 1690-1922
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2001) This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of issues of Christian Science Monitor published from 1908-2001.
New York Times (Historical:1851-2014) This link opens in a new window
Full text image of the newspaper (1851-2014). For current online access see the New York Times entry.
Times Digital Archive (London), 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
"This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context (Gale)." Fondren owns access to the Times Digital Archive 1785-1986, 1987-2013 and 2015-2019. Current issues of The Times Digital Archive are available from Nexis Uni and Newspaper Source under JN "Times, The (United Kingdom)" and are also searchable in Gale NewsVault.
Wall Street Journal (Historical: 1889-2000) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1889-2000).
Washington Post (Historical:1877-2002) This link opens in a new window
Full-text images of the Washington Post, covering 1877-2002.

Streaming Video

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Stream educational and documentary videos, including the following collections: 1) Feature Films for Education; 2) World Cinema Collection; and 3) Science Video Collection.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A collection of films available to stream on demand from a variety of producers covering many different subject areas. Includes a growing collection of international films.
Note: If using a public PC in the library, users need to use Firefox.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
"This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba (Adam Matthew)." It consists of:
Module I: Wars & Revolutions
Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines
Module III: Culture & Society
"Module I: Wars & Revolutions
Lenin & the Russian Revolution
The Second World War & the Rise of Fascism
The Vietnam War & Southeast Asia
Global tensions & the Cold War
Nuclear War & Peace Movements
The Holocaust & War Crimes
Revolution, War, Conflict in China & Korea
Revolution in Cuba & Latin America
The Spanish Civil War

Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines
China Today
Diplomatic & Political Newsreels
GDR Magazine
Global Newsreels (including Czechoslovakia in Pictures, Bulgarian Chronicle, Vietnam Today and others)
Soviet Newsreels & Cinemagazines (including Around the Soviet Union, Agricultural News, Soviet Sport and many others)

Module III: Culture & Society
Agriculture & Farming
Arts & Culture
Children & Family
Education (Adam Matthew)."

Finding Videos/DVDs

You can search Fondren Library's OneSearch for videos and DVDs. Search options include title, author (actor, director, writer, etc), subject and keyword.

DVDs (unless they are on reserve for a class) are located in the South Reading Room on the first floor. Videotapes (unless the catalog record says LSC for location) are shelved at the end of the Reference Collection on the first floor.