LibGuides: Off-Campus (Remote) Library Services: E-Books and More

Using OneSearch to find E-Books

Navigate to the OneSearch Advanced Search page and enter your search terms. Make sure Material Type: Books is selected.
Once your search results are displayed, select Availability: Available Online from the filters on the left side of the page.
You should now see a list of books that meet your search requirements and are also available online.

E-Book Collections and Platforms

Need help? Fondren's Subject Specialists can answer your questions!

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
These guides "offer lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods... It is fully searchable by author, title, topic, or theme (Cambridge University Press)." Rice University has access to the full collection through 2023.
● Over 25 years of content
● Over 600 titles
● 4,000 essays
● Frequent updates include new and original editions
● Tools enable teaching and learning
● Searchable via metadata and fulltext
● Reference linking
● Scholarship is regularly updated with new editions with original versions still available
(Cambridge University Press)
Cambridge Core E-Books This link opens in a new window
A collection of approximately 1,400 e-books on a variety of topics, primarily literature, history, area studies, and philosophy.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
E-book platform for multiple publishers. Currently over 280,000 titles. (Limited concurrent use by title. Check with your subject librarian before class use.)
Formerly known as EBL or ebrary.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 30,000 e-books on a variety of subject areas (Limited concurrent use by title. Check with your subject librarian before class use.)
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
The current GVRL collection contains dictionaries and encyclopedias covering these areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books containing in-depth articles covering the following subject areas: Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Social Work and Sociology. Users can use subject browse options on the top navigation bar and subject filters on the left-hand pane of the search results page. See more information for years owned..
Fondren's access:
Archaeology: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Classical Studies: 2009-2012 Foundation and the 2012-2022 Collections;
Criminology and Criminal Justice: 2009-2012 Foundation and 2013-2022 Collections;
History: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Law: 2009-2012 Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Linguistics: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Literature: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Music: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Neuroscience: 2021-2023 Collections;
Philosophy: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Physical Sciences: 2017, 2018 and 2019 Collections;
Political Science: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Psychology: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Religion: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Social Work: 2023 and
Sociology: 2017-2023 Collections.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window
"The site features authoritative online editions of original work by important writers and philosophers in the humanities (Oxford University Press)."
Fondren owns access to the following modules:
● Early 17th Century Drama
● Early 17th Century Poetry
● Early 17th Century Prose
● 18th Century Drama
● 18th Century Poetry
● 18th Century Prose
● 19th Century Drama
● 19th Century Poetry
●19th Century Prose
● Medieval Poetry
● Medieval Prose
● Plato
● Renaissance Drama
● Renaissance Poetry
● Renaissance Prose
● Restoration Drama
● Restoration Poetry
● Restoration Prose
● Romantics Drama
● Romantics Poetry
● Romantics Prose
● Shakespeare
● Wiggins
Please note that certain updates to these collections may not be accessible.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly eBooks and journals from Oxford University Press. Fondren owns access to the following subjects: Classical Studies, Philosophy, Political Science and Psychology. Browse by subject and look for the green unlock symbol to find accessible content.
Academic eBooks This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, social sciences and education ebooks from Gale/Cengage.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier's ScienceDirect Journals & Ebooks Platform
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, journals, and reference works from Springer.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Ebooks is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks. Ebook collections such as ENGnetBASE and CRCnetBASE are subsets of this collection.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text multidisciplinary collection of online resources, including e-journals and e-books.

Suggest an e-book purchase to us!

It is easy to ask for an e-book when you suggest a library purchase to Fondren!

Free and Open Access E-Books

Google Books
Google Books makes only selected pages of some ebooks available to you to read on a page-by-page basis (previews). Google Books offers the following text-viewing options: Full View, Limited Preview, Snippet View, or No Preview Available. More details about what you can see in these views.

Internet Archive
Internet Archive contains nearly 4 million "texts" (mostly ebooks). The archive also offers streaming video and audio (including music) files.

Project Gutenberg

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

Open Library