LibGuides: Public Company Information: Competitors

Electronic

Most company reports give a competitors list for each company. Some try to give one competitor for each major product line; some just look at one or two product lines. As a result, each service can show different competitors on their lists.

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
This is not a company directory. it offers industry financial data which allows companies to benchmark/compare their financial performance against companies in their industry, geographic location or size.
Types of reports: Industry Financial Profiles, U.S. & Local Market Research Reports, Area Demographic Profiles, Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss, and Local Market Vitality Profile.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Use this database to research and analyze companies and industries around the world. It has content needed to explore a global business landscape: extensive reference content from Gale’s core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, competitors, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and more. Provides journal/news coverage of both industries and companies.
Hoover's Academic This link opens in a new window
Basic company information for US and International public and some private companies. Gives at least one competitor.
Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window
Profiles major companies, industries and countries. Company reports include business description, history, key employees, SWOT, competitors, and much more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Covers a select group of industries by geographic regions and public companies. Industry reports are updated at least once a year and the current and previous year’s reports are available. Company reports are updated with new company SEC filings. Gives a great deal of company information including list of competitors in one place.Has up to 15 years of financial data which can be downloaded into Excel.
Standard & Poor's Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor’s electronic database that contains a number of S&P resources, including the popular S&P Company Profile, Private Company Register, Public Company Register and Industry Surveys.