Public Company Information: Public Company Histories
A guide to help you find information on public companies.
Introduction
Good company research should include company background (if available) and current information on the company. If you are researching a public company, you should find a great deal of valuable information in their SEC filings. Private companies are a challenge, since they do not file with anyone but the IRS.
Current company information can be found in business press, trade publication and local newspapers.
Histories
Electronic
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowUse this database to research and analyze companies and industries around the world. It has content needed to explore a global business landscape: extensive reference content from Gale’s core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and more. Provides journal/news coverage of both industries and companies. Limited private company coverage.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAllows you to search for journal articles, company history, brief company information and includes a dictionary. Can provide MarketLine company reports.
- Hoover's Academic This link opens in a new windowBasic company information for US and International public and some private companies.
- Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new windowGives company overviews including history, major products, revenue analyses, locations, SWOT reports and top competitors Most Industry reports are done by country (i.e.: Toys United States) but some are regional and global reports on an industry. Provides journal/news coverage of both industries and companies.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowCovers a select group of industries by geographic regions. Reports are updated at least once a year. Includes 15 years of financials, history, executive information, ownership information, and much more.
Gilbert and Ruth Whitaker Business Information Center
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University