Public Company Information: Current Company Information
A guide to help you find information on public companies.
Reminder
Most of the company databases have a news section for each company. These can be helpful, but remember the database vendor chose what they consider important.
Current Company Information
To find current information on companies, one must do a literature search of the business press, trade publications, newsletters, and newspapers. The library subscribes to several electronic databases that will allow you to search for such articles.
- Bloomberg – This financial service covers US public companies. A typical company record will give a business description, executives, industry codes, news and much more.
- ABI Inform Collection (ABI/INFORM)Includes general business publications plus academic journals; business journals from around U.S.; trade journals, wire services; includes major newspapers plus Wall Street Journal.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAllows you to search for journal articles, pictures, brief company information and includes a dictionary. Can provide MarketLine company reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowDatabase covers national and global business journals/news. Can be used to track industry developments, current news, global markets and company information.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIndexes newspapers, trade publications and other business resources and goes back full text into the 1970's. Database provides company and legal information.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University