LibGuides: Newspapers: 20th Century

Historical Period - 20th Century Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable scans of local and regional newspapers from the United States.

Fondren has access to the following collections:
- Early American Newspapers Series 1-8, 1690-1922
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
Searchable text and images of issues of the Daily Mail, including issues of the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition.
Daily Worker Online
Scans of issues of The Daily Worker, the newspaper of the Communist Party of the United States of America, covering the 1920s-1960s. Covers news, policy reforms, labor strikes, civil rights, socialism, and other cultural and political topics.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
Text and images from newspapers published in the late 17th-early 20th centuries in the United States.
Fondren Library provides access to the following series:

- Series 1: From Colonies to Nation
- Series 2: The New Republic
- Series 3: From Farm to City
- Series 4: The Rise of Industry
- Series 5: An Emerging World Power
- Series 6: Compromise and Disunion
- Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment
- Series 8: A Nation in Transition.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
Issues of the newspaper Financial Times published from 1888-2021.
Fondren Library owns access to Part 1 (1888-2010), Part 2 (2011-2016) and Part 3 (2017-2021).
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Searchable articles and images from Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. from 1808-1980.
Houston Chronicle (1901-2017) (Newsbank)
Searchable articles and images from the Houston Chronicle, covering the years 1901-2017.
Houston Post Historical Archive
Searchable text and images from the newspaper the Houston Post, published from 1886 until the paper's closure in April 1995.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Digital images of the newspaper Illustrated London News, including all issues from the paper's full run from 1842-2003.
Le Monde - Historical Newspapers (1944-2000)
Searchable text and images from the French newspaper Le Monde, covering the years 1944-2000.
Los Angeles Times (1881-2014) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable text and images from the newspaper the Los Angeles Times, covering news and events from Los Angeles and elsewhere from the years 1881-2014.
New York Times (Historical:1851-2014)
Full text image of the newspaper (1851-2014). For current online access see the New York Times entry.
Sunday Times Digital Archive (London), 1822-2016 (The)
Searchable issues of the English weekly publication The Sunday Times, featuring analysis, arts and crime coverage, investigative journalism, and editorials from the nineteenth through early twentieth centuries.
Times Digital Archive (London), 1785-2019
Issues of the British newspaper The Times, from the years 1785-2019.
Fondren owns access to the Times Digital Archive 1785-1986, 1987-2013 and 2015-2019. Current issues of The Times Digital Archive are available from Nexis Uni and Newspaper Source under JN "Times, The (United Kingdom)" and are also searchable in Gale NewsVault.
Times of India (the) (1838-2010)
Issues of the English-language newspaper The Times of India, covering politics, society and events in India from 1838-2010.
Vossische Zeitung Online (1918-1934)
Full issues of the Berlin daily newspaper Vossische Zeitung, covering the period between World War I and the early days of the Third Reich.
Wall Street Journal (Historical: 1889-2000)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1889-2000).
Washington Post (Historical:1877-2002)
Full-text images of the Washington Post, covering 1877-2002.