LibGuides: Newspapers: Hispanic Studies

Reading Audience - Hispanic Studies

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Text and images of newspapers published in the eighteenth- and nineteenth-century Caribbean.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection provides students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life.
Featuring publications from 22 islands, Caribbean Newspapers provides complete facsimiles of every available issue, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most of these newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish-, French-, and Danish-language titles are also provided.
Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to its history.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers (ranging from 1836 to 1922) from the National Digital Newspaper Program. Hosted by the Library of Congress.

Hemeroteca Digital
Provides online access to over one hundred significant Spanish newspapers, ranging from the 17th to mid-20th century. A project of the National Library of Spain.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press This link opens in a new window
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century (Independent Voices)."

Online Newspapers
Links to thousands of newspaper titles from all over the world, including hundreds from South and Central America.

Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage.