LibGuides: Newspapers: Asian Studies

Reading Audience - Asian Studies

Chinese Newspapers Collection (historical)
Searchable images and text of newspapers published in China from 1832-1953.
Chinese Students' Monthly Online
Searchable text of Chinese Students' Monthly, the first magazine published by Chinese students in the United States from 1906-1931.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press
Weekly digest of material published by the Chinese press, presented in English. Selected articles cover politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more.
The Current Digest’s mission is to provide the reader with a comprehensive, broad picture of the news published in China, be it domestic, international or related to other states of the Asia Pacific region. The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers all readers, regardless of Chinese language ability, a much clearer and more robust view of the current Chinese reality and is a great addition to any English-language resource collection.
Founder Apabi E-platform (China Digital Library)
Books published since the founding of the People's Republic of China, newspapers from China, yearbooks, reference books, pictures and more.
Japan Chronicle Online
Issues of the English-language newspaper Japan Chronicle Weekly and its predecessor Kobe Weekly Chronicle, covering Japanese history and culture from 1900-1940.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
Newspapers published in relocation and internment camps during World War II, written by Japanese-Americans about community concerns and everyday life.
Korea Times - Historical Newspapers
Searchable issues of the Seoul-based newspaper the Korea Times. Issues are available from the years 1950-2016.
Mideast Mirror
News and commentary digest of Arab, Turkish, Persian, and Hebrew media, collected and edited by British journalists and editors.
MideastWire
Internet-based news service that employs a team of translators around the region to gather important stories from and about the Middle East. Covers news from all 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab diaspora.
Nexis Uni
News, company information, market information, legal cases, law (U.S. federal, state, and international law), briefings, codes, and regulations.
North China Herald Online
Back issues of the English-language newspaper the North China Herald, covering the years 1850-1940 and documenting the history of foreign presence in China.

Online Newspapers
Links to thousands of newspaper titles from all over the world, including hundreds from South and Central America.

People's Daily - Renmin Ribao (1946 - Present)
People's Daily has been "the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China for the last 71 years." It provides "the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world (OriProbe)." Notes: Look for the little “click here" on the English introductory page to enter the actual resource. Also, only two simultaneous users are allowed at one time for this database.
International Newsstand
Searchable articles, article summaries, and publication information on more than 660 newspapers from around the world. A list of included publications can be found here.