Architecture: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
A guide to Architecture resources at Fondren Library
Biographical Sources
- Contemporary Architects. byCall Number: Art Ref NA680 .C625 1994
- Dizionario dell'architettura del XX secolo. byCall Number: Art Ref NA680 .D5453 2000
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. byCall Number: Art Ref NA40 .M25 1982
- Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook. byCall Number: Art Ref NA680 .J628 1997
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Companions to the History of ArchitectureUnprecedented in its in-depth coverage, and with over 500
illustrations, photographs, and architectural drawings the multi-volume
Companions to the History of Architecture offers an indispensable
resource on architectural thought and practice ranging from the 15th
century to the present day (Wiley).
- Dictionary of Islamic Architecture. byCall Number: Art Ref NA380 .P43 1996
- Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture. byCall Number: Art Ref NA680 .E495 2004
- Encyclopedia of American Architecture. byCall Number: Art Ref NA680 .P3 1995
- Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies This link opens in a new window"This definitive reference work covers central and emergent topics in the field, through an examination of urban and regional conditions and variation across the world. It also provides authoritative entries on the main conceptual tools used by anthropologists, sociologists, geographers, and political scientists in the study of cities and regions. Among such concepts are those of place and space; geographical regions; the nature of power and politics in cities; urban culture; and many others (Wiley-Blackwell)."
- International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture byCall Number: Art Ref NA40 .I48 1993
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowArt resource containing Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, with access to more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowPremium Collection contains over 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. Includes added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture by ISBN: 9780470648858Publication Date: 2011-09-06Available online through ProQuest Ebook Library. "An essential one-volume reference of architectural topics using Francis D.K. Ching's signature presentation. It is the only dictionary that provides concise, accurate definitions illustrated with finely detailed, hand-rendered drawings."
Terms & Concepts
- Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction. byCall Number: Art Ref NA31 .O38 2008
- Dictionary of Architecture & Construction. byCall Number: Art Ref NA31 .H32 1993
- Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary. byCall Number: Art Ref TH9 .M42 1991Each alphabetical section also provides a list of abbreviations most commonly used in the construction industry.
- Multilingual Dictionary of Architecture and Building Terms. byCall Number: Art Ref NA31 .M85 1988English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University