Architecture: Houston Architecture
Introduction
The following list of books is not exhaustive. To find additional titles, use the suggested search strategies:
Search strategy: Advanced Search in OneSearch: subject contains architecture –Texas—Houston; limit by material type = books (or you will retrieve 140 entries for photographs of molds & wrought iron elements from the Weber Iron & Wire Company collection.)
Search strategy: Advanced Search in OneSearch; subject contains architectural firms—Texas – Houston to display 6 titles.
Search strategy: Advanced Search in OneSearch subject contains Houston (Tex.) - - buildings, structures. Limit results to display ca. 40 books.
Search strategy: for information on individual architects, architectural firms, and specific buildings or projects, search the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
Other Resources:
Cite, published by the Rice Design Alliance since 1982, is indexed by the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Editorially, the emphasis is on the architecture of Houston. In the Avery Index, the title may be searched as a source by: Cite: the architecture and design review of Houston.
Issues held at the Circulation Desk may be checked out for a 4 hour loan. An archival set is in Woodson Research Center. NA9127.H7 C5
- Houston Metropolitan Research CenterHouston Metropolitan Research Center, Houston Public Library. Maintains Texas and local history archival material. The architectural collection documents Houston's built environment, providing information about architects who practiced in Houston; extant and non-extant buildings in Houston. A collection of 125,000 drawings comprises the largest portion of the architecture archives.
Photographic Collection: Consists of more than 3.5 million images of Houston from the 19th century beginnings to the present.
Houston Architecture: Selected Titles (A-K)
An Architectural History of the Museum, 1924-1953 / Stephen Fox. Houston: Museum of Fine Arts. Bulletin; Winter-Spring 1991, v. 15, no. 1.
N576 .H7 A24 Woodson Research Center
The Architecture of John F. Staub: Houston and the South / by Howard Barnstone, with the assistance of Stephen Fox, Jerome Iowa, and David Courtwright; photography by Rick Gardner and Rob Muir; foreword by Vincent Scully. Austin, Tex.: Published in cooperation with the Museum of Fine Arts by the University of Texas Press, 1979.
NA737 .S635 B37 c.1, c.2 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
The architecture of Philip Johnson / foreword, Philip Johnson; photography, Richard Payne; essay, Hilary Lewis; text, Stephen Fox. Boston: Bulfinch Press, 2002.
NA737 .J6 A4 2002 Art Stacks; Library Service Center - Restricted Use
Carlos Jiménez: House and Studio / edited by Darell Fields. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Graduate School of Design, 2003
NA737 .J53 A35 2003 c.1, c.2. Art Stacks
Carlos Jiménez: 30 Years, 30 Works / director/editor, Luis Fernández-Galiano. Madrid: Arquitectura Viva, 2017.
NA737 .J53 A4 2017 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Constructing Houston's Future: The Architecture of Arthur Evan Jones & Lloyd Morgan Jones / by Ben Koush. Houston, Tex.: Houston MOD, 2017.
NA737 .J629 K68 2017 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
The Country Houses of John F. Staub / Stephen Fox; color photography by Richard Cheek. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2007.
NA737 .S635 F69 2007 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Ephemeral City: Cite Looks at Houston / edited by Barrie Scardino, William F. Stern, and Bruce C. Webb; foreword by Peter G. Rowe. Austin, Tex.: University of Texas Press, 2003
NA735 .H68 E64 2003 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Historic Photos of Houston / [text and captions by Betty Trapp Chapman]. Nashville, Tenn.: Turner Pub. Co., 2007
F394 .H843 C48 2007 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Houston; An Architectural Guide. [Editing and graphic design by Peter C. Papademetriou. Houston, Tex.: Houston Chapter, American Institute of Architects, 1972.
NA735 .H68 H6 c.1, c. 2 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center.
Houston Architectural Guide / Stephen Fox; Barrie Scardino Bradley, editor; Gerald Moorhead, photographer; Minor Design, design. American Institute of Architects. Houston Chapter. 3rd edition. 2012.
NA735 .H68 F69 2012 Art Stacks; Art Reference; Woodson Research Center
Multiple copies of the 1st and 2nd editions are available. Consult the catalog for locations. NA735.H68 F69 1990; NA735 .H68 F69 1999
Houston Architectural Survey. Author: Southwest Center for Urban Research, Rice University. School of Architecture. Houston: publisher not identified, 1980-81.
v. 1. Downtown Houston, north of Texas Avenue. Downtown Houston, south of Texas Avenue. -- v. 2. Fourth Ward/Allen Parkway. Houston Heights. North Side. East End. Riverside/University of Houston. -- v. 3. River Oaks area. Memorial area. -- v. 4. Montrose area. South End. -- v. 5. Hermann Park-Rice University area. Shadyside. -- v. 6. Supplementary Profiles. Buffalo Bayou Parkway. National Register Entries. User's Guide.
NA735 .H68 H62 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Note: See catalog for full description of survey. “In general, those buildings and sites included in the survey were built or developed before 1950 … might reasonably be expected to either be proposed for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places or become the object of concerted preservation efforts."
Houston Deco: Modernistic Architecture of the Texas Coast / Jim Parsons & David Bush; foreword by Madeleine McDermott Hamm. Albany, Tex.: Bright Sky Press, 2008. (128pp)
NA735 .H68 P37 2008 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Houston Lost and Unbuilt / Steven R. Strom. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2010.
NA735 .H68 S77 2010 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Houston Architecture: Selected Titles (L-Z)
The last of the past: Houston Architecture, 1847 to 1915: An Inventory and Architectural stylistic History of Remaining Early Commercial Buildings, Houston, Texas, 1980 / by William Scott Field for the Greater Houston Preservation Alliance, the Harris County Heritage Society. Houston, Tex. 1100 Bagby, Houston 77002: The Alliance, 1981.
NA6212 .F5 1981 Art Stacks; WRC; LSC-WRC; LSC-SPECL All copies are non-circulating.
(When possible, chance Art Stacks copy to circulating. Bar code: 31272019719937)
Menil: the Menil Collection / Renzo Piano; [volume a cura di/ book edited by Lia Piano]. Genova: Fondazione Renzo Piano; Place of publication not identified: SOFP, Società operativa Fondazione Piano srl, 2007.
N576 .H68 P53 2007 Art Stacks
The Moderne Style in Architecture: a Houston Guide / by Yolita Schmidt. Presented by the Houston Public Library.
NA735.H68 S35 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston: An Architectural History, 1924-1986 / [by Stephen Fox]. Houston: The Museum, 1992. (a special bulletin) Bulletin (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston) ; n.s., v.16, nos. 1-2.
N576 .H7 A24 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Presence: the Transco Tower / photographed by Steve Brady; introduction by Philip Johnson and John Burgee; text by Ann Holmes. Houston: Herring Press; Austin: Distributed by Texas Monthly Press, 1985.
F394 .H88 T733 1985 Library Service Center – Restricted Use; Woodson Research Center
Rafael Moneo, Audrey Jones Beck Building, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston / text Martha Thorne; photographs Joe C. Aker, Gary Zvonkovic. Stuttgart; London: Edition Axel Menges, 2000.
NA1313 .M56 T4 2000 Library Service Center- Restricted Use, 2 copies
Spanish-Mediterranean Houses in Houston / written by Stephen Fox; photographs by Paul Hester. Houston, Tex.: Rice Design Alliance, 1992.
NA7238 .H6 F69 1992 Woodson Research Center
Specifications for Additions and Alterations to the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, Texas / Architect, Mies van der Rohe. Houston, Tex.: producer not identified, 1956. Gift of Anderson Todd.
N576 .H7 M54 1956 Woodson Research Center
Telephone Road, Texas: a History and Guide to Telephone Road and Southeast Houston / Burton Chapman. Friendswood, Tex. Baxter Press, 2007.
F394.H86 C53 2007 Woodson Research Center
A Vision of Place: The Work of Curtis & Windham Architects / William Curtis, Russell Windham ; introduction by Stephen Fox. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2017.
NA737.C86 A4 2017 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center
Weber-Staub-Briscoe Architectural Collection: 1909-2010 Catalog / Dara Flinn, CA ; Lee Pecht, CA, editor. Houston, Tex.: Rice University Fondren Library, 2014.
NA3940 .F55 2014 Woodson Research Center - Reference
53 images of drawings, design molds and other physical artifacts are available in the Digital Scholarship archive linked from the online catalog record.
1951-1958, High Style in the Suburbs: the Early Modern Houses of William R. Jenkins / by Jason A. Smith with foreword by Stephen Fox. Houston Houston Mod, 2009
NA737 .J454 S64 2009 Art Stacks; Woodson Research Center