Microforms: Major Sets by Subject: Anthropology, Archeology, Economics, Education
List of major microform collections by subject available in the Kelley Center of Fondren Library. Click on the title to access additional information and resources when available, such as indexes, guides, or electronic sources.
The second volume reflects the nationalism and westward expansion of the time and contains periodicals directed at women and children as well as religious periodicals. Notable magazines include Godey’s Lady’s Book, Juvenile Port-Folio, Saturday Evening Post, and New-York Mirror, among other periodicals.
Microform. Sex and Sexuality seeks to make available a broad range of rare printed texts describing changing attitudes towards sex and the body.
Part 1: Covers 61 texts from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and the Wellcome Institute in London. It offers:
Medical works on the body, sex, and venereal diseases, including Aristotle's Masterpiece (1690) and Tissot's A New Guide to Health and Long Life (1808).
Writings on sexual habits, such as Bienville's Nymphomania (1775) and accounts of James Graham's 'celestial bed' through which electrical currents were passed in order to give couples 'superior ecstasy'.
Works on masturbation from Onania (1729) to Tissot's A Treatise on the Crime of Onan (1766).
Advice literature on sex such as Thomas Beddoes' Hygeia (1802-3) and H H Allbutt's The Wife's Handbook (1886).
Material concerning prostitution, including William Acton's Prostitution considered in its moral, social and sanitary aspects (1857) and Michael Ryan's Prostitution in London, with a comparative view of that of Paris and New York (1839).
Writings on the sociology of sex from George Drysdale's The Elements of Social Science; or Physical, Sexual and Natural Religion (1861) to Richard von Krafft-Ebbing's Psychopathia Sexualis (1892)
Part 2: Was the direct result of discussions with Terry Castle and Emma Donoghue to offer material describing the whole spectrum of same sex relations between women from romantic friendship to lesbian couples. We offer 65 texts covering:
The treatment of classical writings by Sappho, Juvenal and Ovid - the way in which their texts were translated tells us a lot about changes in attitude towards homosexuality.
Historical accounts describing sexual practices in Turkey and the 'Orient' including works by Rycaut, Tavernier, Poussin, Hamilton, and Bourdeille.
Works on uranism, lesbianism and homosexuality by Xavier Mayne, Raffalovich and J A Symonds.
Literary treatments of female same sex relations including Jean Barrin's Venus in the Cloister (1683), Jane Barker's The Lining of the Patch-work Screen (1726), and Eliza Haywood's Cleomira (1722) and Cleomelia (1727).
A full range of works by John Cleland - including The Dictionary of Love (1753), Memoirs of a Coxcomb (1885) and Memoirs of Fanny Hill (1888) - depicting every type of sexual relationship.
Writings by Diderot (including Les Bijoux Indiscrets and La Religieuse); Barbara Montague (A description of Millenium Hall); Eliza Jeary (Marina and Amelia); Charlotte Lennox; Elizabeth Steele; Pierre Ambroise Choderlos de Laclos; Elizabeth Rowe; Nicholas Chorier (Satyre sotadique); and others.
Part 3: Based on the incomparable Private Case collection at the British Library. Our Consultant Editor, Professor Brad Mudge, from the Department of English at the University of Denver has selected 164 key works which will be of interest to scholars of literature, history, art, medicine and sexuality. Part 3 includes:
The Cabinet of Venus Unlocked (1657-58) by Sinibaldus (Giovanni Bendetto).
L'escole des Filles (1668) by Michel Millot.
Fifteen Real Comforts of Matrimony (1683).
Fifteen Plagues of Maiden-Head (1707).
Treatise on Hermaphrodites (1718) and The New Epicurean (1740).
Therese Philosophe (1748) by Jean-Baptiste Argens.
Errotika Biblion (1783).
Justine and Histoire de Juliette (1794) by the Marquis de Sade.
La Masturbomanie (1830).
The Exhibition of Female Flagellants (1860).
The Merry Order of St Bridget (1868).
The Romance of Lust; or, Early Experiences (4 vols, 1873-76).
The Boudoir: A Magazine of Scandal (1883)
The Autobiography of a Flea (1887) and The Whippingham Papers (1888)
No longer available in microfilm.
A collection of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). These are books in English printed in Great Britain and abroad. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, fine arts, education, math, and science.
Public website providing at no charge approximately 1.2 million citations and more than 110,000 full-text materials dating from 1966 forward. See also two vendors versions of ERIC.
Fondren Library has a comprehensive collection of ERIC fiche. If you don't find a document online, note the ERIC number and search the fiche collection. The fiche do not include proprietary material such as subscription-based journal articles.
ERIC contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. The sources it indexes include journal articles, books, theses, curriculum, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. See the list of ERIC numbers only available in microfiche, not online, at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_KeepList.pdf.
ERIC contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. The sources it indexes include journal articles, books, theses, curriculum, conference papers, and standards and guidelines.See the list of ERIC numbers only available in microfiche, not online, at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_KeepList.pdf.