Microforms: Major Sets by Subject: Political Science
List of major microform collections by subject available in the Kelley Center of Fondren Library. Click on the title to access additional information and resources when available, such as indexes, guides, or electronic sources.
Microfilm. For Iran, the years 1945 to 1954 represent a decade of tumultuous change, a period when both foreign and domestic forces battled intensely for control of the nation's future. Over 60,000 pages of previously unpublished primary material offer a rich documentary resource covering every facet of modern Iranian history. The collection's comprehensive and detailed coverage of Iran's internal and foreign affairs affords scholars timely and exciting research possibilities. The diplomatic reporting of these files forms a vivid record of Iran's struggle for national identity and offers invaluable firsthand testimony on a wide range of topics.
Here also are the documents that tell what the U.S. State Department knew about the repressive nature of the shah's rule and the degree of popular support he enjoyed. Martial law, imposed after Mohammad Mosaddeq's overthrow in 1953, was maintained until 1957. As the collection details, the shah continued to exercise strict political controls even after ending martial law. In 1955, Iran entered the Baghdad Pact with Britain, Iraq, Turkey, and Pakistan. In March 1959, Iran signed a bilateral defense agreement with the United States. The Central Files offer insights into the shah's desire for close relations with the United States-which resulted in these alliances-and into his requests for U.S. military and economic aid.
In the Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Iran: Internal and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963, collected here, researchers will find firsthand and in-depth reports and analysis on the many challenges faced by Iran during a trying period. Material also provides insight into the complex U.S. relations not only with Iran but also with the entire Middle East, as Washington evaluated the area strategically as both an emerging region and a cold war battleground.
Paper Guide: DS318 .C55 - DS318 .C654
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Iraq, 1945 - 1949
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Iraq, 1950 - 1954
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Iraq, 1955 - 1959
Microfilm. During these tumultuous years of anti-Western nationalism and internal strife, this strategic port nation struggled with its relationship with Israel, the West Bank, and Palestinian refugees-problems that continued to plague Jordan as well as the entire Middle East in succeeding decades. For years, the primary source of instability in Jordan has been the rule of the King Hussein-led Hashemites over the Palestinians, who make up more than half the kingdom's population. The documents in this collection reveal how this tension strained Jordan's relationships with its neighbors, most notably through a series of border incidents and terrorism against Israel and through rioting that prevented Jordan's participation in the Baghdad Pact of 1955. The rise and fall of Sulaiman Nabulsi's National Socialist party is also recorded.
Print Guide: DS154.55 .C6
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Lebanon, 1945 - 1949
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Lebanon, 1950 - 1954
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Lebanon, 1955 - 1959
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Lebanon 1960-January 1963
The largest outside of France, the Houghton Library collection covers the controversy from Dreyfus' humiliating arrest in 1894 to 1908, the year Emile Zola's ashes were transferred to the Pantheon with ceremonial reverence. Reflecting continued interest in the Dreyfus Affair, it also includes publications through 1960.
Comprising over 1,000 volumes, the collection contains all the well-known Dreyfus publications, such as Zola's 1898 newspaper article "J'accuse," as well as rarely seen archival materials. Documents from many different countries and all sides of the controversy reflect the depth and breadth of attention the Dreyfus Affair generated at the turn of the 19th century.
The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France includes:
Most titles listed in the Desachy bibliography--the Dreyfus reference standard for the period 1894-1904
Predominantly French language materials, with items also in English, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch and Swedish
Publications that have never been reissued
Materials with restricted circulation due to their rarity and fragile condition
Works by the principal figures: Bernard Lazare, Georges Clemenceau, Maurice Barres, Emile Zola, Jean Jaurès, Alfred Dreyfus, Yves Guyot, Ferdinand Walsin Esterhazy, Francis de Pressensé, Emile Duclaux, Abbé Pichot, Louis Havet, Jules Lemaître, as well as hundreds of lesser known authors
Monographs, pamphlets, newspaper clippings and cartoons
Independently published stenographic transcripts of all the major trials
Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony Papers
Elizabeth Cady Stanton Papers
Emily Newell Blair Papers
Europe, 1950-1961 supplement
European Women's Periodicals
German Nationalism, National Socialism and Postwar Reconstruction 1918-1949
Gerritsen Collection of Women's History
Grassroots Women's Organizations: Women's Suffrage in Wisconsin
Hajo Holborn Papers, 1919-1944, 1944-1948
John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961 - 1963 (The): Africa
John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961 - 1963 (The): The Middle East
Journal officiel de la République française. Débats parlementaires : Assemblée nationale
Journal officiel de la République française. Débats parlementaires : Sénat
Labor Union Periodicals, Part 1: The Metal Trades - C.I.O. News: Mine, Mill and Smelter Workers International Edition, 1938 - 1942
Labor Union Periodicals, Part 1: The Metal Trades - The Shipbuilder, 1936 - 1955
Labor Union Periodicals, Part 3: Food and Agricultural Industries - Cannery and Field Union News, 1937; CIO News, Cannery Workers Edition, 1938 - 1939; UCAPAWA News, 1939 - 1944; and FTA News, 1945 - 1950
Labor Union Periodicals, Part 3: Food and Agricultural Industries - Rural Worker, 1935 - 1937
Labor Union Periodicals, Part 3: Food and Agricultural Industries - Sharecropper's Voice, 1935 - 1937; Southern Farm Leader, 1936; STFU news, 1938 - 1939; Tenant Farmer, 1941 - 1942; Farm Worker, 1943 - 1944; Farm Labor news, 1946 -1951; The Union Farmer
Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963 - 1969 (The): Africa
Middle East Politics & Diplomacy, 1904-1950
National American Woman Suffrage Association: records, 1839-1961
National Citizen and Ballot Box
National Woman's Party Papers, 1913-1974, Pts. 1 & 2
Microfilm. Series 1 has 5 parts (A-E) with guides for each part. Contains documents by Carrie Chapman Catt, Matilda Gage, Helen Hamilton Gardener, Julia Howe, Alma Lutz, Anna Howard Shaw, Lucy Elmina Anthony, and Lucy Stone. Includes correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, speeches, and manuscripts.