Microforms: Major Sets by Subject: Women's Studies

American Periodicals I includes Columbian Magazine, American Museum, Massachusetts Magazine, and New-York Magazine.

The second volume reflects the nationalism and westward expansion of the time and contains periodicals directed at women and children as well as religious periodicals. Notable magazines include Godey’s Lady’s Book, Juvenile Port-Folio, Saturday Evening Post, and New-York Mirror, among other periodicals.

ser. 1. General and historical files (39 fiches)
ser. 2. Annual, Biennial, and Executive committee meetings (190 fiches)
ser. 3. Executive Committee correspondence (173 fiches)
ser. 4. Standing Committee files (122 fiches)
ser. 5. International Hospitality Committee files (154 fiches)
ser. 6. Activities files (128 fiches)
ser. 7. Other organizations (101 fiches)
ser. 8. Subject files (54 fiches)
ser. 9. Non-NCW files (19 fiches)
ser. 10. Audio-visual materials (8 fiches).

Call Number: DA16.8.C65

Print guide: DA16.8 .C65

Series One: Women, travel, and empire, 1660-1914.

This new project explores the twin themes of Woman and Travel, and Women and Empire. This first part brings together some 97 rare printed volumes by 41 women writers, enabling scholars to explore themes such as:
The development of women’s travel writing, 1662-1917
The evolution of a female aesthetic sensibility
The use of travel as a form of escape from traditional gender roles
The ideology of Empire
Issues of identity - contrasts between imperial settlers and first and second generation ‘colonials’ who begin to develop a new national consciousness
Narratives of Empire and Anti-Empire
gender and colonialism

Part 1: Early travel accounts by women and women's experiences in India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada.

Parts 2 & 3: Women and the Orient.

Series Two: Imperial adventurers and explorers.

There is more than one type of Colonial Discourse. This project brings together a wide variety of sources - travel narratives, Indian and African fiction, papers of explorers - which will enable scholars to understand the complexities which exist and to look at the way in which individuals related to the process of Empire and colonisation. How were territories named? How were indigenous peoples treated? Were different cultures respected?

This second series covers papers of imperial adventurers and explorers. Part 1 covered the recently discovered papers of Richard Burton at Wiltshire & Swindon Record Office. Part 2 covers the papers of James Augustus Grant (1827-1892) and related material by John Hanning Speke (1827-1864) from the National Library of Scotland.

Part 1: Papers of Sir Richard Burton.



Series Three: Colonial Fiction, 1650-1914.

The documents available in Colonial Fiction, 1650-1914: Parts 1-3 encompass novels, juvenile fiction, drama, poetry, travel accounts and ethnographies, accounts of geographical research, diaries, memoirs, histories, essays and speeches on empire, biographies, and housekeeping manuals, though the generic distinctions among these categories is quite often tenuous. Published originally in the subcontinent and in Britain, these works were designed initially for a metropolitan reading public, though by the middle of the nineteenth century a tradition of letters that might be designated Anglo-Indian had also begun to emerge.

Call Number: JK1911.W6G73 1989

Print guides: JK 1911.W6G73 1989

Part one: Records of the Wisconsin Woman Suffrage Association. Includes correspondence, press service bulletins, scrapbooks, clippings, executive board minutes, and other printed material.

Part two: The Papers of Ada Lois James. Correspondence related to Ada Lois James, by her, her family, and colleagues. Also includes Ada Lois James' diary, composition book, and information about her work.

Microfilm

One of the earmarks of socialist thought and theory has been the fusion of economic and political philosophy with the concerns of the working class. Socialism in 20th-century America is unique in its ability to espouse and promote its ideals in an atmosphere of relative economic and political freedom by world standards.

One of the most important results of this freedom to flourish can be found in this comprehensive collection of literature. The 8,600 pamphlets included here preserve on microfilm the articulate and forceful protests of socialism against the societal ills that accompanied industrialization.

Students of political science, political philosophy, the labor movement, sociology, women's studies, and socialist theory will find this collection an invaluable primary source of raw material for the study of radical thought. The literature offers insight into the internal workings of many leading American socialist organizations such as the American Communist Party, the Socialist Labor Party, and The League for Industrial Democracy. In addition, a firsthand record of the personal opinions and aspirations of some of the most eminent social and political reformers of this century can be discovered and studied.

The majority of the pamphlets were written between 1900 and 1945, and cover a wide spectrum of subjects, such as:

the Scottsboro Case
women on socialism
trade unionism
anti-Semitism
crime
women in the work force
child labor
the McCarthy era

Most of the material is in English, but about three percent is in German, French, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Chinese, or Yiddish. Also featured are English editions of primary works on Socialism and Marxism, and viewpoints of the Russian and Chinese Communist Parties. A few of the prominent authors included are Fidel Castro, Emma Goldman, Earl Browder, Nikolai Lenin, Mao Zedong (Mao Tse-tung), Upton Sinclair, and Norman Thomas.

The material in this important collection originates from the Tamiment Library, which traces its roots to the Rand School of Social Science--one of the first and perhaps most important worker's schools in the world. Its holdings are recognized by scholars today as one of the most authoritative sources of radical literature ever assembled.

American socialism is a forceful ideology that has affected social, political, and economic life in the United States. It remains a vital political force today as well, making this collection of continuing importance for in-depth research into American socialist thought.

Paper Guide: Gov Ref HX15 .R24

Microfilm. The National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs (NACWC) is the oldest national African American women’s organization in the United States. The NACWC is a key institution through which women have asserted political influence within the black community and in the larger society in this century.

It was in local women’s clubs that African American women found a means to pool their resources, coordinate their efforts, and groom themselves in the art of political influence. In locality after locality, they raised funds, launched charitable initiatives, and gained the respect of the male power structure. As a national umbrella organization, the NACWC provides an invaluable overview of the black women’s club movement.

NACWC records are filled with names of the nation’s most prominent African American women from the early 20th century. The collection includes material on NACWC founders, presidents, and important civic leaders such as Josephine St. Pierre Ruffin, Mary Talbert, Mary Church Terrell, Margaret Murray (Mrs. Booker T. Washington), Mary McLeod Bethune, Jennie Moton (Mrs. Robert Moton), and Hallie Quinn Brown. Social worker Addie Waites Hunton and journalist Daisy Lampkin are also among NACWC’s nationally known leaders. Besides such national figures, the collection documents scores of locally prominent women, providing a collective portrait of female leadership in 20th-century America.

Part 1: Minutes of National Conventions, Publications, and President's Office Correspondence

Includes the indispensable documentary backbone of the NACWC archives:

* Publications of state and local NACWC affiliates, including histories of many state and local clubs

* National Notes, 1908 to 1992 (some issues missing)-This monthly (to 1935), then quarterly

periodical, featuring reports on the activities of NACWC affiliates throughout the nation, is an invaluable historical source

* Other publications of the national office

* National Convention Minutes, 1895-1992 (two years missing)

* President's office correspondence from 1920 through 1958. While varying in completeness from one administration to another, these records provide the greatest level of detail on the black women's club movement

This remarkable collection will be welcomed by general scholars and specialists alike in African American studies, women's studies, voluntary organizations, the political process, and 20th-century American history.

Part 2: President's Office Files, 1958-1968

This collection of records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs focuses on the period of the modem civil rights movement. The role of the organization's nationwide network in that movement is one of the highlights of NACWC records from this period. Both local and national leaders raised money throughout the country for the NAACP and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. The NACWC participated in the National Women's Committee on Civil Rights-the major umbrella group of African American women working for civil rights legislation in Washington. The association also mobilized local clubs to pressure their congressmen and senators to support civil rights legislation. The NACWC remained active on several other important fronts in the late 1950s and 1960s. Youth work was one area of high priority, especially as carried out through the NACWC's sister organization, the National Association of Colored Girls. The work with girls emphasized career training and moral guidance, community responsibility, volunteerism, and social justice. The files show how the NACWC's youth programs reflected the growing militancy that became a hallmark of the civil rights era.

The family health of African Americans was yet another area in which the NACWC undertook important initiatives. The national headquarters established a Women's Health and Guidance Center in the District of Columbia to serve as a model for what might be accomplished in black communities throughout the nation. Under the directorship of Dr. Dorothy D. Watts and Mabel K. Staupers of the Howard University School of Nursing, the center provided health education and guidance and medical referrals.

In addition, Part 2 of Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs includes correspondence from local club leaders throughout the United States. These letters provide insights into the activities and strengths of the local colored women's club movement during the 1960s. The records document the local clubs' voter registration work and interaction with other organizations for the advancement of civil rights.

Microfilm. Series 1: The books and manuscripts of John Dee, 1527-1608

Part 1: Based on the holdings of the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and offers 63 manuscripts once in Dee's Library. These include 13 manuscripts of the works of Roger Bacon; Dee's diary, 1586-1601; a copy of Thomas Norton's Ordinall of Alchemy bound in purple velvet and earlier texts of writers such as Alkyndi and Albumazar; works of Terence and Alexander; 3 texts of Euclid's Elements; sanit's lives; and other works by Albertus Magnus, Aquinas, Bede, Boethius, Hermes Trismegistus, Ptolemy, Ramon Lull, Lydgate, George Ripley, and other writers.

Part 2: Based on the holdings of Corpus Christi College, Oxford, and offers a further 71 manuscripts from Dee's Library. These include medical texts, works on the spheres and on spirits, romances, saint's lives, commentaries, grammars, alchemical receipts, and texts on astronomy, geometry, music theory, numerology and rhetoric. There is also an almanac by Dee, one of his commonplace books and, 3 letters from Walsingham to Dee. There are works by authors as diverse as Aegidus, Albumazar, Bernard of Clairvaulx, and Albert of Saxony. We also include a printed miscellany owned by Dee that is now held at the Folger Shakespeare Library.

Part 3: Based on the holdings of Cambridge University Library and offers 40 printed volumes and one manuscript text. Most of the printed volumes were produced in Basle, Koln, Paris and Venice. None are in EEBO. Authors include Averroes, Georgius Benignus, Diogenes Laertius, Dionysius Areopagita, Hermes, Henricus Herpf, Pomponius Gauricus, Rasis, Johannes Tritheimius, and John of Vienna. Neoplatonism is well represented, and there are three Hebrew texts.

Part 4-6: Parts 4-6 of this project focus on the European printed books which were once part of John Dee’s Library. They are full of interesting annotations and marginalia. The annotations reveal much about Dee's interests, his reading habits and sometimes they even give details of particular events in Dee's life, nativities and other occurrences. They also inform our understanding of general reading practices and the management of knowledge in the Renaissance period. Places of publication include Antwerp, Basel, Brescia, Frankfurt, Ingolstadt, Lyon, Paris, Rome and Venice.

Subjects covered range across many disciplines:

Alchemy
Philosophy and Theology
History of Rome
History of Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Africa, and the Holy Roman Empire
The Turks and the Ottoman Empire
Geography and Exploration
Women
Latin and Greek Language, Classical Culture and Literature

Microform. Sex and Sexuality seeks to make available a broad range of rare printed texts describing changing attitudes towards sex and the body.

Part 1: Covers 61 texts from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and the Wellcome Institute in London. It offers:

Medical works on the body, sex, and venereal diseases, including Aristotle's Masterpiece (1690) and Tissot's A New Guide to Health and Long Life (1808).
Writings on sexual habits, such as Bienville's Nymphomania (1775) and accounts of James Graham's 'celestial bed' through which electrical currents were passed in order to give couples 'superior ecstasy'.
Works on masturbation from Onania (1729) to Tissot's A Treatise on the Crime of Onan (1766).
Advice literature on sex such as Thomas Beddoes' Hygeia (1802-3) and H H Allbutt's The Wife's Handbook (1886).
Material concerning prostitution, including William Acton's Prostitution considered in its moral, social and sanitary aspects (1857) and Michael Ryan's Prostitution in London, with a comparative view of that of Paris and New York (1839).
Writings on the sociology of sex from George Drysdale's The Elements of Social Science; or Physical, Sexual and Natural Religion (1861) to Richard von Krafft-Ebbing's Psychopathia Sexualis (1892)
Part 2: Was the direct result of discussions with Terry Castle and Emma Donoghue to offer material describing the whole spectrum of same sex relations between women from romantic friendship to lesbian couples. We offer 65 texts covering:

The treatment of classical writings by Sappho, Juvenal and Ovid - the way in which their texts were translated tells us a lot about changes in attitude towards homosexuality.
Historical accounts describing sexual practices in Turkey and the 'Orient' including works by Rycaut, Tavernier, Poussin, Hamilton, and Bourdeille.
Works on uranism, lesbianism and homosexuality by Xavier Mayne, Raffalovich and J A Symonds.
Literary treatments of female same sex relations including Jean Barrin's Venus in the Cloister (1683), Jane Barker's The Lining of the Patch-work Screen (1726), and Eliza Haywood's Cleomira (1722) and Cleomelia (1727).
A full range of works by John Cleland - including The Dictionary of Love (1753), Memoirs of a Coxcomb (1885) and Memoirs of Fanny Hill (1888) - depicting every type of sexual relationship.
Writings by Diderot (including Les Bijoux Indiscrets and La Religieuse); Barbara Montague (A description of Millenium Hall); Eliza Jeary (Marina and Amelia); Charlotte Lennox; Elizabeth Steele; Pierre Ambroise Choderlos de Laclos; Elizabeth Rowe; Nicholas Chorier (Satyre sotadique); and others.

Part 3: Based on the incomparable Private Case collection at the British Library. Our Consultant Editor, Professor Brad Mudge, from the Department of English at the University of Denver has selected 164 key works which will be of interest to scholars of literature, history, art, medicine and sexuality. Part 3 includes:

The Cabinet of Venus Unlocked (1657-58) by Sinibaldus (Giovanni Bendetto).
L'escole des Filles (1668) by Michel Millot.
Fifteen Real Comforts of Matrimony (1683).
Fifteen Plagues of Maiden-Head (1707).
Treatise on Hermaphrodites (1718) and The New Epicurean (1740).
Therese Philosophe (1748) by Jean-Baptiste Argens.
Errotika Biblion (1783).
Justine and Histoire de Juliette (1794) by the Marquis de Sade.
La Masturbomanie (1830).
The Exhibition of Female Flagellants (1860).
The Merry Order of St Bridget (1868).
The Romance of Lust; or, Early Experiences (4 vols, 1873-76).
The Boudoir: A Magazine of Scandal (1883)
The Autobiography of a Flea (1887) and The Whippingham Papers (1888)

Call number: HQ766.W65

Microfilm. Provides several of the most important primary sources on activists who devoted their careers to the issues of sexuality, sex education, and female reproductive rights.

Part A: Schlesinger Library Family Planning Oral History Project

Contains transcripts of an ambitious oral history project undertaken by the Schlesinger Library during the 1970s. The interviews variously focus on the politics and ethics of reproduction, including birth control, abortion, sex education, marriage counseling, and maternal and infant health and welfare.

Part B: The Papers of Mary Ware Dennett and the Voluntary Parenthood League

Although not as well-known today as Margaret Sanger, Mary Ware Dennett was Sanger's contemporary, collaborator, and ultimately chief competitor in the field of birth control advocacy. Dennett staked out an approach that was more radical than Sanger's. While Sanger promoted the dissemination of birth control information via practicing physicians, Dennett held that women have a constitutional right to such information, a right that need not be mediated by the medical profession.

Microfilm. A collection of writings by 19th Century Southern women. Topics covered include courtship, slavery, education, child rearing, marriage, and religion. Divided into series by letter and parts by number:

Series A, Holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Series B: Holdings of The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Library

Part 1: Mary Susan Ker of Linden Plantation, was a governess at Vicksburg, teacher in Natchez, and traveler of Europe and the United States. The earliest papers are those of her parents, John and Mary (Baker) Ker in Natchez.

Part 2: The diary of Mahala P. (Eggleston) Roach, which traces 50 years of life in Vicksburg, Mississippi, and includes comments on social life, domestic relations with slaves, family life, and the Civil War.

Part 3: The diaries and papers documenting the lives of other Louisiana and Mississippi women are drawn from eight manuscript collections. Commentaries on daily life and travel, thoughts on the status of women as property owners, reminiscences, and even poetry are among the contents of the collections. The collections include the papers of Charlotte Beatty, Madaline Selima Edwards, the Gale and Polk family, t he Gibson-Humphreys family, Ellen Louise Power, Catherine M. Pritchard, Sarah Lois Wadley, and Mary Susannah Winans.

Part 4: Spanning 1667-1903. Among the early papers are letters of Elizabeth House Trist, with family correspondence and letters to Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. Her grandson, Nicholas Philip Trist, married Virginia Jefferson Randolph, granddaughter of Thomas Jefferson. Their courtship letters and correspondence among their relatives include descriptions of life at Monticello. Trist's eventful diplomatic career separated the family but spurred regular letter writing from children as well as parents. Civil War period letters reveal the divisions of feeling within the family.

Part 5: Georgia collections relate to members of the Brumby and Smith, Cornwall, Gift, Graves, Milligan, Mackay and Stiles, and Pember families. Alabama family names include Comer, Hentz, McCorkle, and Ulmer. There are collections from the Elmore and Mclver families of South Carolina and one small Florida collection relating to Julia McKinne (Foster) Weed.

Part 6: Covers five families. Included in the Beale and Davis family papers are diaries, moral reflections, and letters of Anne Turberville Beale Davis and her relatives, who were preachers and planters. The Henry Harrison Cocke papers include correspondence and diaries of Elizabeth Ruffin Cocke, a sister of Edmund Ruffin. The Francis Asbury Dickins papers contain many letters of Mrs. Dickins's Randolph family relations. The Hubard family papers feature the postwar activities of a woman writer and her planter family. The Susannah Gordon Waddell diary records the experiences of a physician's wife during the Civil War in Monroe County, now West Virginia.

Part 7: Consists of two related collections centered in Chapel Hill, North Carolina: papers of siblings Charles Phillips and Cornelia Phillips Spencer. These collections include family and personal correspondence and extensive women's diaries documenting life at the University of North Carolina and the university's struggle to stay open and then to reopen during Reconstruction.

Part 8: Twenty-four collections included which document the diversity of North Carolina family life during the 19th century. The stories of factors and physicians, planters and politicians, manufacturers and professionals, are told through the many families represented here.


Series B: Holdings of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Library: The Carter Family Papers, 1888–1989.

Comprises the detailed records of women at Shirley Plantation on the James River in Charles City County, Virginia. In addition to the diaries there are several volumes with copied or original essays and poetry, address books, scrapbooks, and other items, as well as extensive family, personal, and social correspondence.

Series C: Holdings of The Earl Gregg Swem Library, The College of William and Mary in Virginia: Miscellaneous Collections, 1773–1938.

Includes twelve collections documenting a variety of women's experiences in Virginia from the Chesapeake Bay to the Shenandoah Valley. Antebellum, Civil War, and postwar periods.

Series D: Holdings of the Virginia Historical Society

Part 1: Contains documents from the Tidewater region including the voluminous 19th-century papers of the family of Mary Custis Lee of Arlington and New Kent counties. Child rearing, housekeeping, social life, and travel are among the topics covered. Correspondents include Mary Custis Lee's husband, Robert E. Lee, as well as her mother, mother-in-law, daughters, and other relatives.

Part 2: Documents the lives of several generations of women from the Chamberlayne family (1821- 1938), McCarthy family (1839-1865), Williams family (1811-1946), Young family (1835-1900), and other families that were centered in the Richmond metropolitan area.

Part 3: Documents the Piedmont regions of central, southern, northern, and western Virginia. The culture and traditions of many hundreds of individual women and their families are found in sixty-eight collections of papers.

Part 4: Drawn from nineteen manuscript collections, records the experiences of scores of women and their families and features the strength of home and hearth. From distant domiciles throughout the South, southern women reveal their culture, traditions, and individuality.

Series E: Holdings of Louisiana State University

Allows comparative study of family life and women's roles in the Anglo and French cultures of the Mississippi Valley. Researchers can chart family and social life through such collections as the Annie Jeter Carmouche Papers, 1853-1964, chronicling one woman's antebellum childhood in Virginia and New Orleans, her experience of the Civil War, and her postwar life in St. Landry and Bossier parishes; and the Emily Caroline Douglas Papers, 1855-1913, contrasting impressions of the South gained during her New England childhood with the South she came to know during the turbulence of the Civil War and its aftermath.

Series F: Holdings of the Center for American History University of Texas at Austin.

Correspondence, diaries, literary works, and other papers provide unique insight into their lives and spirit from colonial times, to antebellum, Civil War, and postwar years, and through the Victorian era. Scholars will value this collection for both its diversity of female experience and its continuity of family records through several generations.

Series G: Holdings of the University of Virgina Library

Part 1: Below the fall line in 19th-century Virginia, the course of women's lives flowed as various and changing as the seasons. In correspondence, diaries, and other papers, these southern women narrate their experiences across generations of family and over a century of life in the South.

Part 2: The 19th century brought many challenges—evolving technology and new modes of transportation, farming, and manufacture; the advent of formal education for women, leading to their greater expectations of independence; an increasingly volatile slave population that early in the 1800s outnumbered whites in the South; and the approaching shadow of war that would linger long after all the battles had been fought. The southern women in this part struggled to meet these challenges, often with great success. Their stories capture life above Virginia's fall line, as it was determined day to day over one hundred years.

Series H: Holdings of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University

Part 1: These papers follow women as they travel the social arch of their lives, from close female friendships, courtship and marriage to motherhood, and encounter the issues of their times: the Civil War, slavery, religious faith, education and descent into poverty. Combined with the constant threat of disease and child mortality, the collections often present women in states of crisis, searching for the means to hold themselves and their families together. Many voices are represented in the collections, including the compelling accounts of Emma Spaulding, wife of carpetbagger and newspaperman John Emory Bryant, Julia Blanche Munroe, wife of U.S. and Confederate naval officer John McIntosh Kell, author Clara Victoria Dargan MacLean, schoolteacher Isabella Anna Roberts Woodruff, and wealthy plantation owner and well-known diarist Ella Gertrude Clanton Thomas.

Part 2: The Clement Claiborne Clay papers and Washington M. Smith papers compose the majority of this part, while smaller collections consist of a few hundred documents or a single diary.

Part 3: Includes a number of Black voices, from business women Fannie B. Rosser and Josephine Leary to slaves of the Campbell and Mordecai families who dictated letters to their relations and owners.

Call number: HQ1593.W558

Microfilm. Advice books, manuals, and journals for women during Victorian and Edwardian England. Subjects range from household management to fashion.

Parts 1-4: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford
Part 5: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford

Part 6: Sources from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds

Part 7: Sources from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds

Call number: HQ1236.5 U6W65

Microfilm. Divided into Part A: Democrats (the papers of Mary Williams Dewson, Emma Guffey Miller, Sue Shelton White) and Part B: Republicans (the papers of Jessica Weis). Includes correspondence, photographs, congressional papers, newspaper clippings, and other writings.

Call number: HQ1593.A3W65

Microfilm. Women’s Autobiographies provides fresh insights into the diversity of women’s lives, and reveals their beliefs, opinions and aspirations. It provides valuable research material for those studying social history, women and gender issues, childhood and education.

Part 1 offers texts describing the lives of 33 women who lived between 1713 and 1859. These include a middle class Quaker; an emigrant to America; a working-class orphan; a poet; a social reformer; a Roman Catholic aristocrat; a cross-dressing actress; an army daughter; several society hostesses; a non-conformist preacher; a missionary; a Royalist witness to the French Revolution; a woman pioneer who travelled amongst the Mohawks; a woman in religious turmoil; an Irish aristocrat; an Irish emigrant to America; a best-selling author; a witness of slavery in Jamaica; one of Princess Charlotte's servants; a Methodist; a Lady at Court in Hanoverian England; a sexual predator; a woman who fell from affluence to poverty; an actress, poet and novelist; essayists; an Indian settler; another actress; a cottage preacher; and a devoted mother.

Part 2 offers texts describing the lives of 19 women who lived between 1780 and 1889. These include an emigrant farmer’s wife; a teacher; a governess; an author; a poet; an itinerant preacher; an artist; a journalist; a lady-in-waiting; an astronomer; a scientist; an abolitionist; an early feminist; a social reformer; a clergyman’s daughter, a society woman, a military spouse, and a colonial farmer’s wife in India.

Call number: HQ1593.W58

Microfilm. British women’s diaries and related sources from 1500 to 1940. Includes travel journals, commonplace books, and records.

Part 1 is based on sources from the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire County Record Offices. In all it comprises nearly 100 volumes describing the lives of 25 women for the period from 1670 to 1922.

Part 2 of this project, based on the holdings of Birmingham Central Library and Birmingham University Library, covers the lives of a further 33 women in the period from 1744 to 1940.

Part 3 is based on sources from Cambridge University Library and from Suffolk County Record Office, offering 169 volumes describing the lives of 27 different women covering the period from 1798 through to 1943.

Part 4 is based on the manuscript holdings of the National Library of Scotland and the National Library of Wales, extending the geographical diversity of the diaries covered by this project. Over half of the volumes date from the 17th and 18th centuries.

Part 5 from Essex Record Office includes 121 volumes describing the lives of 12 different women covering the period from 1628-1902.

Call number: JK1896.W66

Print guide: JK1896.W66

Microfilm. Series 1 has 5 parts (A-E) with guides for each part. Contains documents by Carrie Chapman Catt, Matilda Gage, Helen Hamilton Gardener, Julia Howe, Alma Lutz, Anna Howard Shaw, Lucy Elmina Anthony, and Lucy Stone. Includes correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, speeches, and manuscripts.