Microforms: Major Sets by Subject: Literature; Philosophy and Religion

Series One: Women, travel, and empire, 1660-1914.

This new project explores the twin themes of Woman and Travel, and Women and Empire. This first part brings together some 97 rare printed volumes by 41 women writers, enabling scholars to explore themes such as:
The development of women’s travel writing, 1662-1917
The evolution of a female aesthetic sensibility
The use of travel as a form of escape from traditional gender roles
The ideology of Empire
Issues of identity - contrasts between imperial settlers and first and second generation ‘colonials’ who begin to develop a new national consciousness
Narratives of Empire and Anti-Empire
gender and colonialism
Part 1: Early travel accounts by women and women's experiences in India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada.

Parts 2 & 3: Women and the Orient.

Series Two: Imperial adventurers and explorers.

There is more than one type of Colonial Discourse. This project brings together a wide variety of sources - travel narratives, Indian and African fiction, papers of explorers - which will enable scholars to understand the complexities which exist and to look at the way in which individuals related to the process of Empire and colonisation. How were territories named? How were indigenous peoples treated? Were different cultures respected?

This second series covers papers of imperial adventurers and explorers. Part 1 covered the recently discovered papers of Richard Burton at Wiltshire & Swindon Record Office. Part 2 covers the papers of James Augustus Grant (1827-1892) and related material by John Hanning Speke (1827-1864) from the National Library of Scotland.

Part 1: Papers of Sir Richard Burton.

Series Three: Colonial Fiction, 1650-1914.

The documents available in Colonial Fiction, 1650-1914: Parts 1-3 encompass novels, juvenile fiction, drama, poetry, travel accounts and ethnographies, accounts of geographical research, diaries, memoirs, histories, essays and speeches on empire, biographies, and housekeeping manuals, though the generic distinctions among these categories is quite often tenuous. Published originally in the subcontinent and in Britain, these works were designed initially for a metropolitan reading public, though by the middle of the nineteenth century a tradition of letters that might be designated Anglo-Indian had also begun to emerge.

Call Number: PR1304.N55

Print guide: PR1304 .N55


Part 1: The Browning, Eliot, Thackeray & Trollope Manuscripts from the British Library, London
Part 2: The Correspondence and Records of Smith, Elder & Co from the National Library of Scotland
Part 3: The Correspondence and Literary Manuscripts of Arthur Hugh Clough (1819-1861) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.
Part 4: The Correspondence and Papers of John Gibson Lockhart (1794-1854), Editor of The Quarterly Review, from the National Library of Scotland.
Part 5: Papers of Caroline Bowles (1787-1854) and Robert Southey (1774-1843) from the British Library, London
Part 6: Correspondence & Papers, 1788-1827, of Archibald Constable, Publisher of the Edinburgh Review, from the National Library of Scotland
Part 7: Correspondence & Papers, 1825-1846, of Robert Cadell, from the National Library of Scotland

Microform. Sex and Sexuality seeks to make available a broad range of rare printed texts describing changing attitudes towards sex and the body.

Part 1: Covers 61 texts from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and the Wellcome Institute in London. It offers:

Medical works on the body, sex, and venereal diseases, including Aristotle's Masterpiece (1690) and Tissot's A New Guide to Health and Long Life (1808).
Writings on sexual habits, such as Bienville's Nymphomania (1775) and accounts of James Graham's 'celestial bed' through which electrical currents were passed in order to give couples 'superior ecstasy'.
Works on masturbation from Onania (1729) to Tissot's A Treatise on the Crime of Onan (1766).
Advice literature on sex such as Thomas Beddoes' Hygeia (1802-3) and H H Allbutt's The Wife's Handbook (1886).
Material concerning prostitution, including William Acton's Prostitution considered in its moral, social and sanitary aspects (1857) and Michael Ryan's Prostitution in London, with a comparative view of that of Paris and New York (1839).
Writings on the sociology of sex from George Drysdale's The Elements of Social Science; or Physical, Sexual and Natural Religion (1861) to Richard von Krafft-Ebbing's Psychopathia Sexualis (1892)
Part 2: Was the direct result of discussions with Terry Castle and Emma Donoghue to offer material describing the whole spectrum of same sex relations between women from romantic friendship to lesbian couples. We offer 65 texts covering:

The treatment of classical writings by Sappho, Juvenal and Ovid - the way in which their texts were translated tells us a lot about changes in attitude towards homosexuality.
Historical accounts describing sexual practices in Turkey and the 'Orient' including works by Rycaut, Tavernier, Poussin, Hamilton, and Bourdeille.
Works on uranism, lesbianism and homosexuality by Xavier Mayne, Raffalovich and J A Symonds.
Literary treatments of female same sex relations including Jean Barrin's Venus in the Cloister (1683), Jane Barker's The Lining of the Patch-work Screen (1726), and Eliza Haywood's Cleomira (1722) and Cleomelia (1727).
A full range of works by John Cleland - including The Dictionary of Love (1753), Memoirs of a Coxcomb (1885) and Memoirs of Fanny Hill (1888) - depicting every type of sexual relationship.
Writings by Diderot (including Les Bijoux Indiscrets and La Religieuse); Barbara Montague (A description of Millenium Hall); Eliza Jeary (Marina and Amelia); Charlotte Lennox; Elizabeth Steele; Pierre Ambroise Choderlos de Laclos; Elizabeth Rowe; Nicholas Chorier (Satyre sotadique); and others.

Part 3: Based on the incomparable Private Case collection at the British Library. Our Consultant Editor, Professor Brad Mudge, from the Department of English at the University of Denver has selected 164 key works which will be of interest to scholars of literature, history, art, medicine and sexuality. Part 3 includes:

The Cabinet of Venus Unlocked (1657-58) by Sinibaldus (Giovanni Bendetto).
L'escole des Filles (1668) by Michel Millot.
Fifteen Real Comforts of Matrimony (1683).
Fifteen Plagues of Maiden-Head (1707).
Treatise on Hermaphrodites (1718) and The New Epicurean (1740).
Therese Philosophe (1748) by Jean-Baptiste Argens.
Errotika Biblion (1783).
Justine and Histoire de Juliette (1794) by the Marquis de Sade.
La Masturbomanie (1830).
The Exhibition of Female Flagellants (1860).
The Merry Order of St Bridget (1868).
The Romance of Lust; or, Early Experiences (4 vols, 1873-76).
The Boudoir: A Magazine of Scandal (1883)
The Autobiography of a Flea (1887) and The Whippingham Papers (1888)

Microfilm. Spanish Drama of the Golden Age includes over 3,200 individual plays in editions (anthologies or compilations) from the 17th through the mid-19th centuries. Based on the Comedia Collection of the University of Pennsylvania Library, this major collection is composed of several smaller collections:

• The Hugo Albert Rennert Collection, focusing on Lope de Vega and including classical non-dramatic works by and about de Vega, which add to an understanding of the nature and scope of his dramatic output


• J.P. Wickersham Crawford Collection, which is particularly strong in the field of Golden Age Spanish poetry


• Joseph E. Gillet Collection, which contains a substantial number of comedias sueltas


• The University of Pennsylvania Library's 17th-century collections; the Comedias Nuevas Escogidas published between 1652 and 1704, and additional Comedias Sueltas. Volumes of plays by Calderon, Tirso de Molina, Agustin Moreto y Cabana, Perez de Montalvan and Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra were also taken from this collection. The University's collection also includes the Comedias Varias, binders' volumes of loose plays.

American Periodicals I includes Columbian Magazine, American Museum, Massachusetts Magazine, and New-York Magazine.

American Periodicals III covers the Civil War and Reconstruction eras and contains the first issues of Putnam’s Monthly Magazine, Vanity Fair, and Ladies’ Home Journal.

The second volume reflects the nationalism and westward expansion of the time and contains periodicals directed at women and children as well as religious periodicals. Notable magazines include Godey’s Lady’s Book, Juvenile Port-Folio, Saturday Evening Post, and New-York Mirror, among other periodicals.

Microfilm. Series 1: The books and manuscripts of John Dee, 1527-1608

Part 1: Based on the holdings of the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and offers 63 manuscripts once in Dee's Library. These include 13 manuscripts of the works of Roger Bacon; Dee's diary, 1586-1601; a copy of Thomas Norton's Ordinall of Alchemy bound in purple velvet and earlier texts of writers such as Alkyndi and Albumazar; works of Terence and Alexander; 3 texts of Euclid's Elements; sanit's lives; and other works by Albertus Magnus, Aquinas, Bede, Boethius, Hermes Trismegistus, Ptolemy, Ramon Lull, Lydgate, George Ripley, and other writers.

Part 2: Based on the holdings of Corpus Christi College, Oxford, and offers a further 71 manuscripts from Dee's Library. These include medical texts, works on the spheres and on spirits, romances, saint's lives, commentaries, grammars, alchemical receipts, and texts on astronomy, geometry, music theory, numerology and rhetoric. There is also an almanac by Dee, one of his commonplace books and, 3 letters from Walsingham to Dee. There are works by authors as diverse as Aegidus, Albumazar, Bernard of Clairvaulx, and Albert of Saxony. We also include a printed miscellany owned by Dee that is now held at the Folger Shakespeare Library.

Part 3: Based on the holdings of Cambridge University Library and offers 40 printed volumes and one manuscript text. Most of the printed volumes were produced in Basle, Koln, Paris and Venice. None are in EEBO. Authors include Averroes, Georgius Benignus, Diogenes Laertius, Dionysius Areopagita, Hermes, Henricus Herpf, Pomponius Gauricus, Rasis, Johannes Tritheimius, and John of Vienna. Neoplatonism is well represented, and there are three Hebrew texts.

Part 4-6: Parts 4-6 of this project focus on the European printed books which were once part of John Dee’s Library. They are full of interesting annotations and marginalia. The annotations reveal much about Dee's interests, his reading habits and sometimes they even give details of particular events in Dee's life, nativities and other occurrences. They also inform our understanding of general reading practices and the management of knowledge in the Renaissance period. Places of publication include Antwerp, Basel, Brescia, Frankfurt, Ingolstadt, Lyon, Paris, Rome and Venice.

Subjects covered range across many disciplines:

Alchemy
Philosophy and Theology
History of Rome
History of Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Africa, and the Holy Roman Empire
The Turks and the Ottoman Empire
Geography and Exploration
Women
Latin and Greek Language, Classical Culture and Literature

Call Number: DA522 .W6 A2

Papers of William Wilberforce and Robert Isaac Wilberforce. Includes journals, correspondence, and William Wilberforce’s autobiography covering topics such as morality and slavery.

Part 1: The Papers of William Wilberforce (1759-1833) and Robert Isaac Wilberforce (1802-1857)

Part 2: The Papers of Samuel Wilberforce (1818-1873)

Part 3: The Papers of Samuel Wilberforce cont (1818-1873)

Series Two: Papers of William Wilberforce (1759-1833) and related slavery & anti-slavery materials from Wilberforce House, Hull