United States - City Newspapers - Newspapers - LibGuides at Rice University

United States - City Newspapers

Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Daily World was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century.
Austin American Statesman (1871-1980) This link opens in a new window
It provides researchers with unique insights into the historical political, economic, cultural and social life of Texas, and the southwest U.S. (ProQuest).
Chicago Tribune (2008-present) This link opens in a new window
See full-page images of this digitized newspaper. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008 - recent (3-month embargo) (ProQuest).
Cleveland Call and Post (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contributors included noted journalists Charles H. Loeb and John Fuster. The newspaper is well known for its support of the Scottsboro trial defendants with letters, clothing, stamps, and donations to the defense fund.
Houston Chronicle (1901-2017) (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the newspaper from 1901-2017.
Houston Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Houston Post Historical Archive includes the years 1886 - 4/1995 (The Houston Post ceased publication in April 1995).
Los Angeles Times (1881-2014) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covering leading issues and events of Los Angeles (1881-2014) (ProQuest).
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Access to The New York Times via the web or mobile device.

Note: Setting up an account for first time users or for renewing your digital subscription. (Click on "more").
1) Go to http://accessnyt.com/.
2) Search for "Rice University"
3) If you are setting up an account for the first time, you must use your Rice email for setup. For best practice choose a unique and secure password.
3a) If you are renewing your digital subscription, be sure to use your same account by clicking on "Already have an account? Log on here >>" and sign in with your existing username/password.
4) Check your email for a confirmation from NY Times and click on the link in the email. If you don't see the email, check your spam filter (i.e. Proofpoint). For help with this step click here.
5) Confirm your account is working by going to NYT.com and clicking on 'Account'. You should see 'Digital Subscriber' listed under your username.
6) If you use the NY Times mobile app, log out and back in.

Note: If you continue to have access issues, please contact Fondren Library at http://library.rice.edu/contact.

The library's subscription does not include any of the NYT games, including the NYT Crossword puzzle, but does include Cooking and Wirecutter access.
New York Times (Historical:1851-2014) This link opens in a new window
Full text image of the newspaper (1851-2014). For current online access see the New York Times entry.
New York Times Backfile (from 2008) This link opens in a new window
"The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008 - recent (3-month embargo) (ProQuest)."
Philadelphia Tribune (Historic: 192-2001) This link opens in a new window
The Philadelphia Tribune is the oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation (1912-2001).

Newspapers: United States - City Newspapers

United States - City Newspapers