LibGuides: Newspapers: 17th & 18th Centuries

Historical Period - 17th & 18th Century Newspapers

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks, and newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries, curated by the British Library.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable scans of local and regional newspapers from the United States.

Fondren has access to the following collections:
- Early American Newspapers Series 1-8, 1690-1922
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876

Hemeroteca digital
Dozens of significant Spanish newspapers, ranging from the 17th to mid-20th century. A project of the National Library of Spain.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection provides students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection provides students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life.
Featuring publications from 22 islands, Caribbean Newspapers provides complete facsimiles of every available issue, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most of these newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish-, French-, and Danish-language titles are also provided.
Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to its history.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
This series consists of "the single most comprehensive online resource for searching and browsing early American newspapers (Readex). Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; and Series 8: A Nation in Transition.
RetroNews This link opens in a new window
RetroNews provides access to the National Library of France's press archives from 1631 to 1950 with 15 million digitized articles. NOTE: You must create an account to get full access.