LibGuides: Newspapers: Business & Finance

Reading Audience - Business & Finance Newspapers

ABI Inform Collection (ABI/INFORM)
ABI/INFORM is part of the database ProQuest One Business.

Full-text academic journals, dissertations, working papers, and business and economics periodicals. The ABI/Inform Collection is made up of several products: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Barron's (2008-current) This link opens in a new window
The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide cover-to-cover access. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008 - recent (3-month embargo) (ProQuest).
Economist (The) Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
"The Economist has consistently delivered a highly intelligent and comprehensive report of the week's events and has long been a leading magazine ... Its back issues ... serve as key witnesses to the economic and political history of the last 170 years (Gale)." The Economist Historical Archive back issues are available from 1843 through 2020.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources to give students, lecturers and librarians access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. This broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective. Researchers can track industry developments, monitor current news, track global market activity, research a global company, and more.

Advanced Search Guide
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021 This link opens in a new window
Archive of the newspaper Financial Times. Fondren Library owns access to Part 1 (1888-2010), Part 2 (2011-2016) and Part 3 (2017-2021).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790— and is a good source for foreign newspapers.
*Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic.
Nexis Uni offers an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Wall Street Journal (Historical: 1889-2000) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1889-2000).
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of the Wall Street Journal.
Wall Street Journal ( 2008-recent) This link opens in a new window
Full-page images with cover-to-cover access to content with full-text searching. Coverage: 2008 - recent (3-month embargo) (ProQuest)."
Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Wall Street Journal

PLEASE NOTE: For information on how to set up an account for first-time users or to renew your digital subscription (required annually), please click on "more."
To set up an account use the link below. After clicking on the link, you will need to verify that you are an authorized Rice User. Following this, set up your account in the Wall Street Journal form. Do not use your NetID password for setting up the Wall Street Journal account. Instead, create a new password. This account is for setting up and managing your website.

https://partner.wsj.com/partner/riceuniversity

For detailed instructions, go to https://library.rice.edu/wsj

Users will need to refresh their account once a year to ensure their affiliation with Rice University by going to https://wsj.com/rice

After filling in the appropriate information, the user will be told they already have an account and to "sign in here." After clicking this link and signing into their account they should have successfully refreshed their access.

For users using an app for the WSJ, after a year they will have to delete the app, reinstall it and then sign in again.