LibGuides: Newspapers: Gender and Sexuality Studies

Reading Audience - Gender and Sexuality Studies

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
These archives provide "primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender (Gale)." Rice University owns access to the following modules: Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940; Part II: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940; Part III: Sex and Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries; Part IV: Global Diversity; and Part V: L’Enfer de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France.
"With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas... One highlight of the archive is the unparalleled assemblage of newsletters, newspapers, and periodicals by, for, and about gays and lesbians... In addition, the archive encompasses extensive material related to feminism, women’s rights, and women’s concerns (Gale)."
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century (Independent Voices)."
LGBTQ+ Source™ This link opens in a new window
"LGBTQ+ Source™ contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc."
Women's Studies Archive, Parts 1-4 This link opens in a new window
"This collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more.... It focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women (Gale)." Fondren owns access to Women's Studies Archives, Part 1: Women's Issues and Identities; Part 2: Voice and Vision; Part 3: Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society (1820-1922) and Part 4: Female Forerunners Worldwide.
This collection covers "important topics including: the History of Feminist Theory and Activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society (Gale)."
The individual collections in this database are:
● Collected Records of the Women's Peace Party: 1914-1920
● Committee of Fifteen Records,1900-1901
● European Women's Periodicals
● The Herstory Collection
● Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 1: Boston Area Second Wave Organizations, 1968-1998
● Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 2: San Francisco Women's Building / Women's Centers, 1972-1998
● Malthusian, 1879-1921 (formerly Women and the Social Control of Their Bodies)
● Planned Parenthood Federation of America Records, 1918-1974
● Records of the Women's Peace Union: 1921-1940
● Women and Health/Mental Health
● Women and Law Collection
● Women's Lives
● Women's Labour League: Conference Reports and Journals, 1906-1977
● Women's Trade Union League and Its Leaders
● Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom: United States Section, 1919-1959