Newspapers: 20th Century

Searchable scans of local and regional newspapers from the United States.

Fondren has access to the following collections:
- Early American Newspapers Series 1-8, 1690-1922
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876

Searchable text and images of issues of the Daily Mail, including issues of the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition.

Scans of issues of The Daily Worker, the newspaper of the Communist Party of the United States of America, covering the 1920s-1960s. Covers news, policy reforms, labor strikes, civil rights, socialism, and other cultural and political topics.

Text and images from newspapers published in the late 17th-early 20th centuries in the United States.

Issues of the newspaper Financial Times published from 1888-2021.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Full text of the newspaper from 1901-2017.

The Houston Post Historical Archive includes the years 1886 - 4/1995 (The Houston Post ceased publication in April 1995).

The historical archive of the Illustrated London News is the full facsimile run of the illustrated newspaper from 1842 to 2003 with over 260,000 pages in full-color imaging, including specials and presentation pieces.

Le Monde was established for its political independence, and has been ever since. It is also renowned for its balance in coverage, deep analysis of historical events, and focus on journalistic quality and high intellectual standards (ProQuest).

Covering leading issues and events of Los Angeles (1881-2014) (ProQuest).

Full text image of the newspaper (1851-2014). For current online access see the New York Times entry.

"Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. In more than 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years (Gale)."

"This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context (Gale)." Fondren owns access to the Times Digital Archive 1785-1986, 1987-2013 and 2015-2019. Current issues of The Times Digital Archive are available from Nexis Uni and Newspaper Source under JN "Times, The (United Kingdom)" and are also searchable in Gale NewsVault.

First-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events in India from 1838-2010 (ProQuest).

This "database contains every issue of the Berlin daily newspaper from the end of World War I to the beginning of the 'Third Reich' with all of the newspaper's coverage and commentaries on the political, social and cultural events of that epoch (De Gruyter)."

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1889-2000).

Full-text images of the Washington Post, covering 1877-2002.