LibGuides: Newspapers: Black Studies

Reading Audience - Black Studies

African-American Newspapers: the 19th Century This link opens in a new window
This collection of African-American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s. It also contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements, all of which embody the African-American experience.
This database will ultimately contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Coverage includes: The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers contains local and regional newspapers from the United States including including Early American Newspapers Series 1-8, 1690-1922, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, and Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876.
Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text to the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010) and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection provides students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection provides students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life.
Featuring publications from 22 islands, Caribbean Newspapers provides complete facsimiles of every available issue, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most of these newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish-, French-, and Danish-language titles are also provided.
Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to its history.

Chronicling America
Full-text newspapers (ranging from 1836 to 1922) from the National Digital Newspaper Program. Hosted by the Library of Congress.
Freedom's Journal
Freedom’s Journal (digitized images of all 103 issues of Freedom’s Journal, the first African American newspaper in the United States, published between 1827 and 1829 in New York City)

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers consists of:
1) Series 1 (1827-1998): This features 280 newspapers from 35 states; and
2) Series 2 (1835-1956): Includes newspapers published in 22 states and the District of Columbia.
African Newspapers (1800-1925) This link opens in a new window
This includes the following collections: 1) African Newspapers, Series 1 (1800-1922); 2) African Newspapers, Series 2 (1835-1925); and 3) African Newspapers, the British Library Collection (pre-1900).
Historical African-American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century (Independent Voices)."
Norfolk Journal and Guide (Historic) This link opens in a new window
The Norfolk Journal and Guide was the only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time.
Philadelphia Tribune (Historic: 192-2001) This link opens in a new window
The Philadelphia Tribune is the oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation (1912-2001).
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
This database "brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations (Reveal Digital)."