LibGuides: Newspapers: 19th Century

Historical Period - 19th Century Newspapers

African-American Newspapers: the 19th Century
Scans of African-American newspapers from the 19th century, including statistics, biographies, essays, poetry, advertisements, and other cultural artifacts.

This database will ultimately contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Coverage includes: The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable scans of local and regional newspapers from the United States.

Fondren has access to the following collections:
- Early American Newspapers Series 1-8, 1690-1922
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876
ANNO -- Austrian Newspapers Online
Searchable text of hundreds of historical newspaper and magazine titles published in Austria from late 18th through early 20th century.
British Library Newspapers
Searchable text and images from 18th-20th century regional and local British newspapers, collected by the British Library.
Rice University owns access to the following modules:
- Part I: 1800-1900 (national and regional papers)
- Part II:1800-1900 (local newspapers)
- Part III: 1741-1950 (national and regional papers)
- Part IV: 1732-1950 (local newspapers)
- Part V: 1746-1950 (northern regional newspapers)
- Part VI: 1783-1950 (Ireland).
Chronicling America
Full-text newspapers (ranging from 1836 to 1922) from the National Digital Newspaper Program. Hosted by the Library of Congress.
Civil War Era Newspapers
Historical newspapers, pamphlets and ephemeral works from the Civil War period in the United States.
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Newspapers published in the South during the American Civil War, documenting news, opinions, and culture.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
Text and images from newspapers published in the late 17th-early 20th centuries in the United States.
Fondren Library provides access to the following series:

- Series 1: From Colonies to Nation
- Series 2: The New Republic
- Series 3: From Farm to City
- Series 4: The Rise of Industry
- Series 5: An Emerging World Power
- Series 6: Compromise and Disunion
- Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment
- Series 8: A Nation in Transition.
Guardian (the) and The Observer - Historical Newspapers
Images and full-text articles of the British newspaper The Guardian (with coverage from 1821-2003) and its sister paper The Observer (with coverage from 1791-2003).
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Searchable articles and images from Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. from 1808-1980.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Digital images of the newspaper Illustrated London News, including all issues from the paper's full run from 1842-2003.
New York Times (Historical:1851-2014)
Full text image of the newspaper (1851-2014). For current online access see the New York Times entry.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Articles, advertisements, editorials, and images from U.S. newspapers published during the 1800s.
RetroNews
RetroNews provides access to the National Library of France's press archives from 1631 to 1950 with 15 million digitized articles. NOTE: You must create an account to get full access.
The Sunday Times Digital Archive (London), 1822-2016
"Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. In more than 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years (Gale)."
Times Digital Archive (London), 1785-2019
"This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context (Gale)." Fondren owns access to the Times Digital Archive 1785-1986, 1987-2013 and 2015-2019. Current issues of The Times Digital Archive are available from Nexis Uni and Newspaper Source under JN "Times, The (United Kingdom)" and are also searchable in Gale NewsVault.
Times of India (the) (1838-2010)
First-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events in India from 1838-2010 (ProQuest).