Newspapers: Europe - United Kingdom

These archives contain mid-eighteenth-to-mid-twentieth-century regional and local British newspapers from the British Library (Gale). Rice University owns access to: Part I: 1800-1900 (national and regional papers); Part II:1800-1900 (local newspapers); Part III: 1741-1950 (national and regional papers); Part IV: 1732-1950 (local newspapers); Part V: 1746-1950 (northern regional newspapers); and Part VI: 1783-1950 (Ireland).

"The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896... It currently boasts a circulation of over 2 million, and its website is the most visited news site in the world (Gale)."

The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past 200 years. The Guardian and The Observer have been digitized from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in PDF format.

The historical archive of the Illustrated London News is the full facsimile run of the illustrated newspaper from 1842 to 2003 with over 260,000 pages in full-color imaging, including specials and presentation pieces.

This archive "is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly political rivals... Featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, presenting fresh, alternative views on the free market, social issues, and culture (Gale)."

"Founded in 1903, the Mirror plays a pivotal role in the history of journalism... It features more than 800,000 pages of brand-new, full text searchable, scans of the complete run of the Mirror from 1903-2000, including the Sunday Mirror (Gale)."

"Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. In more than 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years (Gale)."

"The Daily Telegraph ... had 'the largest circulation in the world', boasting world-famous writers... For more than 150 years it has shaped and recorded the history and democratic values of the United Kingdom (Gale)."

"This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context (Gale)." Fondren owns access to the Times Digital Archive 1785-1986, 1987-2013 and 2015-2019. Current issues of The Times Digital Archive are available from Nexis Uni and Newspaper Source under JN "Times, The (United Kingdom)" and are also searchable in Gale NewsVault.